English if-clauses: lesson 1

If clauses are a wonderful thing in any language. In English, we have three main types of if clause.

Kieran Ball
Learn English with sentences

--

I’ve written a selection of sentences for each if clause, so that a learner of English can read them and start to get to grips with them.

Type 1: If + simple present + will future

Here are some sample sentences that use the first type of “if-clause” in English:

  1. If I have the time, I will go to the supermarket later.
  2. If I have the time, I will call you tomorrow.
  3. If I have enough time, I will do it for you.
  4. If I find one, I’ll get it.
  5. If I don’t find a phone, I will send you an email.
  6. If you find Maria, will you tell her where I am?
  7. If you see Peter, will you call me?
  8. If I reach Paul, I’ll tell him where you are.
  9. If you want me to leave, I’ll go.
  10. If you tell me what you want, I’ll cook it for you.
  11. If we leave now, we’ll get there on time.
  12. If you take me for lunch, I’ll help you with your work.
  13. If you order now, we will send it to you tomorrow.
  14. If you tell me what you want, I will help you to get it.
  15. If they leave early, they will catch the…

--

--

Kieran Ball
Learn English with sentences

Teacher and creator of 3 Minute Languages — a series of books and online courses that help you to learn a foreign language quickly and easily www.3minute.club