I Learned a Language by Reading Game of Thrones

This is how I read a book in a foreign language.

The PyCoach
Learn Languages with TV and Books

--

learn a language by reading books
Photo by Katrina_S on Pixabay

Four years ago, after finishing the Portuguese course in Duolingo, I tried to find a way to practice all the grammar rules and vocabulary I learned.

In the beginning, I didn’t have success in finding a language partner to practice the language and my free time didn’t allow me to watch movies or TV shows in Portuguese, so I decided to read a book to practice the language on the go.

That’s when I chose the Game of Thrones books since I thought I could easily understand the books because I watched the TV show. Besides, I wanted to find out more about my favorite characters, so it was a win-win!

In this article, I’ll show you what I did to learn a language by reading Game of Thrones and how that helped me improve my language skills.

How Did I Learn a Language by Reading Game of Thrones?

To learn a language by reading books like Game of Thrones, I used flashcards. Keep in mind that I read e-books, which were essential for the method I used to learn a language; however, you can come up with a way to adapt this method to printed books.

--

--