Making the Most of Your Coding Bootcamp Experience

Brian Emory
Learn. Love. Code.
Published in
4 min readAug 7, 2016
Four months of hard work on Flatiron School’s Learn.co platform.

I just submitted my final project for Flatiron School. It has been an intensive four months all while still working full-time. I could not have done it without the support of my loving wife. She let me spend all my free time locked in my office learning, and brought my dinners up to me while I studied away.

Whether you are doing a coding bootcamp like Flatiron School or self-studying, full-time or part-time, here is a list of things that can lend you a hand.

Take Care of Yourself

It may sound silly but taking care of yourself can really make the difference between going strong and crashing and burning. Our bodies are a delicate thing and need care especially when you are pushing yourself so hard.

Always get a good night’s rest. It may be tempting to stay up late and try to finish up a problem. It may be okay occasionally but if you keep at it you will quickly find your energy levels super low. Exercise! It does not have to be anything strenuous. A brisk 30 minute walk in the morning will make a big difference. Also, try to lay off the junk food. If you combine a moderately healthy diet with enough sleep and exercise, you will find your mind stays crisp and sharp.

If you are going to be spending large amounts of time sitting in front of your computer learning how to code, I suggest investing in a comfortable chair. It makes quite the difference when you are spending hours at a time sitting. I bought a used Herman Miller off Craigslist and never looked back.

Note Taking

Take lots of notes. You can either go the old fashioned way of pen and paper, or use a program like Quiver. Or both! I used Quiver as I went through lessons at Flatiron School. I created “notebooks” for each section, and a note for each lesson. It made it super helpful to have everything easily accessible when I wanted to follow up on a particular subject.

An inside look at the Quiver note-taking platform.

Blogging

I’ve noticed (along with other Flatiron School students) that blogging throughout your coding journey is such a good learning tool. Pick a blogging platform and get to it! Try to blog once a week or once every couple of weeks. You can use the Hemingway app to make sure your posts are well written.

Be Social

Do not make your journey to learn a solo one. If you are part of a coding bootcamp or community that has a Slack channel, be active in it. Make some friends and reach out when you get stuck.

Go to local meetups. Hopefully you’re in an area with a regular group that meets up. Attend ones about topics you are learning and others you are interested in. It is good to meet some fellow programmers and hang out with those that have the same interest in coding that you do.

Podcasts to Listen To

Listen to some coding podcasts. Some of my favorites are Giant Robots Smashing into Other Giant Robots, CodeNewbie, Ruby on Rails, The Ruby Rogues, and The Bike Shed. Even if you are new to coding, do not be intimidated that some of the topics seem over your head. They may not make sense now but they will in the future. I found it helpful and encouraging to listen to others more advanced then me speak on things I knew one day I would understand.

One of my favorite coding podcasts. Give it a listen!

Don’t be Afraid to Start Over

It can be extremely frustrating to keep banging your head against the wall trying to figure something out. Do not give up! As I mentioned in another blog post, learning to code is really hard. If you feel like you are not getting anyway, saved what you have done, throw it out, and start over. A fresh start could be just what you need to find the answer.

Ship It!

If you are working on a project, remember that it does not have to be perfect. The saying goes, “if you’re not embarrassed when you ship your first version you waited too long.” So ship it! You can make changes later.

Hang in There

Learning to code will be one of the harder things you ever try to do. It is supposed to be. You are teaching yourself a brand new skill. Not only that, you are teaching yourself how to think in an entirely different way. That takes time. Do not get frustrated. If coding is what you enjoy or what you want to do, stick with it. You got this. 😄

Soon to be graduate of Flatiron School’s online campus as a full-stack web developer. Follow me on Twitter @thebrianemory. Follow me here, click the green heart to show some love, leave a comment, and get in touch!

--

--

Brian Emory
Learn. Love. Code.

Backend Software Engineer (Ruby/Elixir). Giraffe-like qualities. I enjoy video games, bad movies, hard ciders, and pizza.