Why I Decided to Learn Software Development

Brian Emory
Learn. Love. Code.
Published in
7 min readMay 11, 2016
My first Ruby on Rails tutorial app

It Started with a Longing for Purpose

For many years, I have been searching for that special something. That special something that drives and motivates me. That special something that gets me out of bed with a spring in my step. That special something that causes me to lose track of time while doing it. For years, that special something eluded me.

I have been pretty dissatisfied with every job I have had. I think that is normal though. Bills need paid so you work where you can. Money was always a terrible motivator for me. Do not get me wrong, I like money and would like to have enough not to worry about it. However, there was always a nagging sense of I should be doing something more.

This nagging sense led me to quitting jobs when I did not have another lined up (I do not recommend this). I once quit a job and moved halfway across the country because of that nagging sense. That lasted all of two weeks.

As I look back at all of the things I have thought about and tried for a career, they all lacked the same thing: drive. I was never truly motivated to do them. I was great at planning out what I would do, but my execution was poor. Sometimes, okay a lot of the time, my execution was nonexistent.

I love the smell of the air after a storm

I Am Not a Salesperson

My first foray into a new career choice was selling air purifiers. I always liked the idea of having my own business and there was money potential. The machines would “purify” the air in your home and make it smell like a fresh thunderstorm. Although the purify part is debatable, it did make the house smell like a fresh thunderstorm.

I was not a salesperson. I was also terrified of the idea of picking up the phone and calling people (especially cold calling *shudder*). All I had to do was pick up the phone and make some calls to make some money. Money was the only reason to do it. That should have been enough right? It was not. I had no passion or enjoyment from any part of it.

First sunrise of 2013 in Oahu, Hawaii

Photography Seemed Like a Good Idea

Then there was the time I caught the photography bug. I rather enjoyed it. Still do. Being able to capture something like in the above photo and hold on to it for a lifetime appealed to me. I can always look at the photo and remember my trip to Hawaii, getting up early every morning to watch the sunrise on the beach, and how worried I was about my camera falling in the ocean as I stood on the rocks.

I caught the photo bug after I borrowed my sister’s camera for a hiking trip. I soon purchased my own and the obsession grew. I bought a better camera and lenses and kept taking photographs of nature. As much as I enjoyed it, I never took it that seriously. There would be times I knew I should go take some photos, keep working on my craft, but I would not feel like it so I would stay home.

I thought okay, if I am really going to make this a career, I should do portrait photography. I can set up a little studio in my extra room and be all set. I spent time and money making a lighting setup, making some backdrops, and then never did anything with it. I enjoyed it but it was not a true passion and I did not give it a serious pursuit.

Sell houses, make money, right?!

New Location, New Career

My most recent idea for a career was a loan officer. My in-laws are in the real estate industry and have been quite successful at it. I have had conversations about it so when I moved to Los Angeles, I decided this would be a good career option. After all, the money potential was really good (you can see where this is going).

I was going to get my NMLS, negotiate some deals, and make lots of money. I got a test prep software, studied and crammed, and passed the NMLS exam on the first attempt. Outside of that bit of studying, I was doing nothing to learn more about real estate. I was not spending my free time learning more or finding out how I could be better at the job.

I applied to a lot of places trying to be a loan officer. I think my lack of passion for the industry showed through each time. I was never hired and eventually did find work in real estate but not as a loan officer. No big deal I thought, I can learn more of the industry this way and move up from there. As time went on I realized I did not care at all about real estate and that it was not the choice for me.

A life of programming is the life for me

Software Development — the Right Choice

I have always had a small interest in being a programmer. I remember tinkering with HTML and CSS in the mid-90s. There was even the briefest looking into C or Visual Basic. I have continued to do a little with HTML and CSS but never considered it a career option. It was just something fun to play with from time to time.

I would see things in my Facebook feed occasionally about careers in programming but never paid them much mind. I enjoyed tinkering with my Wordpress site to change up how it looked with what I knew of HTML and CSS. I always enjoyed that and spent lots of time tweaking things. I never thought this could be what I did for a career even with all the stories about programming careers popping up.

That changed when I saw a Business Insider Insider Picks article Learn how to code & make serious bank with this online training program — it’s just $39. I was again feeling dissatisfied with my current job so this piqued my interest. I was not even sure I wanted to learn to code but I figured if I did decided, the $39 course would come in handy.

I tested the waters and liked what I was learning. Followed along the tutorial and learned all about Ruby on Rails, did some Codecademy courses on Ruby, Rails, HTML and CSS. I liked it and thought maybe there could be something to this.

From May on I was spending a decent amount of time doing that course and doing some Free Code Camp. While I was going through Free Code Camp, I got a new job and my focus went away from coding for a bit. It was always there though, sitting in the back of my brain.

I felt a bit of purpose while learning to code. When I stopped, that nagging sense that I should be doing more was back. Things I normally enjoyed felt like time wasters. I was feeling I should be doing something better with my life. After the new year, I realized that the something better was coding.

I started learning again in January going back through the course I bought and through the Free Code Camp work I had already done. I bought another Ruby on Rails course and worked my way through it. My sense of purpose was back. I was spending most of my free time learning to code. I would get lost in coding. The time would slip by and all of a sudden it was way passed the time I planned to go to bed.

That is how I knew. The only things I had done where I would lose track of time like that was playing video games or bulls-eyeing womp rats in my T-16. It never happened with any of my other career endeavors. This was not about money potential, although that is good. It was about me enjoying what I was doing.

I loved what I was learning. I loved programming. Even when I would hit roadblocks that had me frustrated, I stuck with it. I kept pushing through until I got things working. Oh man that feeling was the best!

I now spend all of my free time learning to code with Learn Verified. I code before work. I code after work. I code all day on the weekends. It is my passion and I love doing it.

I look forward to many years of coding for work and for fun.

Currently a student at Learn Verified studying to be a web developer. Follow me on Twitter @thebrianemory. Follow me here, click the green heart to show some love, leave a comment, and get in touch!

--

--

Brian Emory
Learn. Love. Code.

Backend Software Engineer (Ruby/Elixir). Giraffe-like qualities. I enjoy video games, bad movies, hard ciders, and pizza.