Is Shibuya Scramble Square on a rainy night a cyberpunk Instagram-worthy spot?

ramen4423
Learn & Share: Culture of Japan
2 min readOct 18, 2023

Walking through Shibuya Scramble Square, I see a lot of foreign tourists more than Japanese. Especially around the Shibuya Scramble Crossing, everyone is taking photos. It was the same when I first came to Tokyo. The crowd at the Scramble Crossing is quite fascinating.

Shibuya on a rainy night is a cyberpunk Instagram-worthy spot
Shibuya on a rainy night

Recently, I read an article that claimed photos of Shibuya’s nighttime streets resemble the world of the movie ‘The Matrix.’

I was surprised to learn that photo-sharing sites like Reddit are overflowing with cyberpunk photos from Shibuya.

I had never thought about it that way. So, I decided to mimic and walk around Shibuya at night and take some photos.

Shibuya night is a cyberpunk world
Shibuya scramble crossing

--

--

ramen4423
Learn & Share: Culture of Japan

A nomadic creator studying English. I share Japanese culture through English notes. I am also a Tokyo Local Guide.