Japanese Toilets: A TOTO Journey

ramen4423
Learn & Share: Culture of Japan
2 min readOct 27, 2023

When traveling abroad, I realize how advanced Japanese toilets are. Just the other day, a foreign visitor expressed astonishment at the cleanliness of our restrooms. What we take for granted in Japan might be considered a luxury elsewhere, leading many Japanese travelers to feel a sense of discomfort with overseas toilet facilities.

Japanese Toilets: A TOTO Journey
Japanese Toilets: A TOTO Journey

I wondered, why are our toilets so unique? I researched this year.

One significant discovery was TOTO’s pivotal role in Japan’s toilet technology evolution. Based in Kyushu, TOTO houses the TOTO Museum, open to the public. However, the distance from Tokyo makes it a challenging visit. Fortunately, I found an online tour via Zoom.

The virtual tour takes place every Wednesday from 14:00 to 14:45, excluding holidays. Although it caters to 20 participants, on my tour, it was just me, seemingly in my 40s, and a young child — making for a peculiar pair.

During the tour, we tackled toilet-related quizzes. Surprisingly, the child outperformed me! Whether he genuinely knew the answers or had some behind-the-scenes help remained a mystery.

While I can’t disclose quiz details, the tour enriched my understanding of the history of toilets and TOTO. A fun fact: the term “Washlet” is a play on “Let’s wash,” and it’s a TOTO trademark.

I learned about Japan’s water-saving toilets, efficient flush mechanisms, and advanced surface treatments to prevent dirt accumulation.

We were also introduced to Kazuchika Okura, who served as the president of TOTO’s precursor. Interestingly, he later played a crucial role in establishing INAX. It’s fascinating that in Japan, TOTO and INAX stand out as renowned toilet manufacturers.

The TOTO Museum showcases unique displays, including a sumo wrestler’s toilet and international restrooms. With numerous global branches, TOTO designs toilets tailored to regional needs.

The TOTO Museum is undoubtedly on my must-visit list.

TOTO museum

1–1, Nakashima 2-chome, Kokurakita-ku, Kttakyushu, Fukuoka, 802–8ó01, Japan

TOTO virtual museum

--

--

ramen4423
Learn & Share: Culture of Japan

A nomadic creator studying English. I share Japanese culture through English notes. I am also a Tokyo Local Guide.