The Alchemist

The Fool’s Journey and Paulo Coelho’s “The Alchemist”

A look into how the spiritual journey in “The Alchemist” follows the canonical Fool’s Journey in the Rider-Waite Major Arcana.

Charlotte James
Learn Tarot
Published in
21 min readJun 30, 2023

--

Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, published in Portuguese in 1988, quickly became an international bestseller. After reading Alan R. Clarke’s 1993 English translation, it is easy to see why.

The Alchemist tells an insightful and complex story of a young boy’s spiritual awakening and enlightenment in only 200 pages. His turn of phrase is simple but thoughtful and wise. He exhibits a clear understanding of spiritual phenomena, and he is able to pass along this understanding with grace and simplicity.

This is one of those books that finds you when you need to find it.

The first time I read it, I felt so seen. I was going through a horrible moment of loneliness in my life and this book had me sobbing every time I picked it up. If you’re on a spiritual journey, The Alchemist is an absolute must-read.

In the Rider-Waite tarot deck, the first 22 cards are called the Major Arcana. These 22 cards are also referred to as the “Fool’s Journey.”

--

--

Charlotte James
Learn Tarot

I write to heal. I enjoy talking about tarot, spirituality and self-improvement.