Organizing the library system

Bogomolova Anfisa 🍏
Learn UX/UI
Published in
4 min readNov 30, 2016

I believe that the way you organize your workflow not only improves your efficiency, but also a quality of the work .

Every time, I’m starting to mock up a new project, I’m facing the «Pain». I search for the right elements, platform styles, sizes, icons etc. If I don’t dedicate enough time to set up my library — the whole system gets too messy. Eventually, I’ll be updating the mockup with more relevant elements, going back and forth into changing symbols and library styles in Sketch. It’s pretty annoying and time costy.

The time I spend to setup a project library searching for the right things in the messy «downloads» folder could also go up to some hours. Apparently, I prefer to stay focused on the product instead. Right things always need to be right here, under my hands. Thus, one beautiful day I said: Basta

System brainstorming

I brainstormed on the best way to organize my assets to economy few hours per project and now I’d love to share with you the result. Hopefully, It’ll also boost your efficiency as it did in my case.

Developing library system

I’ve started by dividing the standard workflow into the stages, trying to understand what do I need for each of them.

Next, I’ve realized how many Factors could define those stages. Among them: resolutions, platform styles, atomic design elements, various specifics of each stage.

Specifics of each stage made me brainstorming a bit further, spanning also various design languages, atomic design elements, and types of icons.

Mapping specifics for each stage

Now, all that was left to do is a simple prioritization.

Firstly, I tried to prioritize sequences of search in each stage. Biggest conflict was between Resolutions and Platform styles order. To resolve it, I simply asked myself: What am I looking for starting with a new design stage?

Here are the scenarios:

Ex 1:

I’m starting to work on the styles guides. I know that I’m working on the IOS app. Next, I know that it’s mobile app. I need to grab a relevant blueprint or someone’s freebie IOS kit.

It means that naturally, I think in the next order:

Style / Resolution / Options

Ex 2:

I’m working on the User Interface for the current project. I know that it’s Web application. Next, I’m looking for a most suitable style for my case, so I check dribbble freebies. I remember that in the mockup I have next elements: login, dashboard, calendar. I picked elements that could work in my project and send them to the project repository.

It means that naturally, I think in the next order:

Resolution / Style / Atoms / Options

Finally, I’ve designed the system for scenarios. Universal system for each stage doesn’t work. Asking the right questions helps to prioritize an order. I came up with the table made from blocks that are relevant in each stage and updates it with specifics of each stage (from brainstorming).

Voila.

Now, every time I’m looking for something particular, given system naturally follows with my thinking flow and I don’t have to struggle remembering where did I send that drop-down menu. Of course, It’s not perfect and not complete yet. Besides, everyone has it’s own organizing habits, but if you happen to think in the same way as I do, than feel free to use this system to organize your “downloads”.

System preview

Thank you for spending 4 minutes together. Follow me to keep in touch and learn or develop things together.

Much love, Anfisign.

--

--

Bogomolova Anfisa 🍏
Learn UX/UI

Land your dream job with community resources (courses, reviews, workshops, and more!) ➡️ www.skool.com/intouxdesign