Photo by David Marcu on Unsplash

COMMITTED TO A JOURNEY

MY JOURNEY INTO TECH

sixtus iwuchukwu
3 min readSep 16, 2019

--

As a newcomer to the development world, I always want to be hyper-aware of the fact that I’ve made my way here through unconventional means. I had no formal education in my field, so I’ve learned almost everything I know from the discovery of others and their free distribution of their knowledge in a palatable form. I want to make sure that I’m both mitigating any disadvantages of that method and contributing to the education of the person behind me who is also on this path.

  1. I’m not super smart, but I work really hard. Periodically, I’ll run into a friend at tech hub who, upon seeing my code editor, will say something like, “Wow, that looks so intense.” or “I could never do that.” It’s always a bit awkward because I don’t want to downplay what I do as a developer by discounting the skill and experience it takes to understand and write code. However, I always try to encourage that well-meaning friend that, as with most things in life, code becomes less complicated with familiarity. Be careful, though. Familiarity breeds contempt.
  2. It’s almost impossible to accurately describe what I do. Have you ever explained your technical job to your grandma? After you explain, she’ll almost certainly ask, “Is that with computers?” To some degree, I feel as if this is always my struggle. I’m a developer, but writing code isn’t necessarily my vocation. There’s much more to it than that. I gather and understand complex business requirements for a given project, solve creative and technically-demanding problems, do my best to bridge design and functionality, and I do it all within the limitations of a budget and an often-unrealistic timeframe.
  3. I’m a developer–not a JavaScript developer. It’s so easy to fall into the trap of learning one library, framework, or even language, and calling myself by that name. I primarily do front-end work, but in the first few weeks of my journey to tech I’ve written scripts in Python (a language I previously had little experience with),Java,c++,c# and Assembly language done quite a bit of front-end work at my leisure with HTML, CSS &JAVASCRIPT and currently acquiring knowledge to be able to build a full-stack React/Node application from the ground up to be used by 100,000+ customers only for me to be lucky being among the cohort v2.2 intern in the well-groomed tech company named LearnFactory Nigeria situated at 44 aba Owerri road Aba, Abia State,Nigeria . With the aid of the company, instructors, It was possibly for me to be cautioned, directed, learn things I know nothing about and become not just a better developer but a better person.

Conclusion

There’s no secret to becoming a developer or to getting a job in tech. (Actually, there might be and I just don’t know it.) In my experience, it’s all about the effort you’re willing to put in.

No athlete wonders how they achieved greatness in their sport. No soldier wonders how they became proficient in their tasks and drills. It was by design; it was intentional, and it was hard work. Get started today.

…Stay tuned for more Article.

--

--