Hello Destiny

Favour George
LearnFactory Nigeria
3 min readOct 16, 2019
Godwin Destiny Chinedu

My name is Godwin Destiny Chinedu, I am from Alayi In Bende Local Government of Abia State. I am a student of Economics in (MOUAU) Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia state Nigeria. I made a career change into becoming a developer in March 2018 after reading a nice article online that was talking about technology, the article talked more about how technology started, how it has changed the world and also what the future of technology would look like. Although I am someone who is internet friendly and an explorer, I loved technology from the unset that I fell in love with everything been done by technology. So after reading that story I was totally blown away. It was as if the story reshaped my way of thinking. During my time in school, I knew that I wanted to do something different with my life, but I had no idea of what it was exactly, I wanted to understand myself, and find a career I could be comfortable and content with that would also sustain me.

There are days I spent a lot of time doing research about what to do and how to become influential in life, and I ended up not getting the right result or answer, trust me it’s really hard to focus and be honest with yourself about who you are vs. who you want to be. However, the article I read brought an answer to my questions and helped me discover things about myself, like the areas where I am good at and the cool things I should focus on. Becoming a developer was one of the things I deduced from the story line and also made me realize that I was meant to be solving and finding solutions to problems, so I made up my mind that I would learn web/software development.

By August 2018 I started learning the basic HTML with my friend and roommate in school on youtube, we collaberated. We did to a point were we discovered an online school and consequently we registered and continued learning the basic, building up our knowledge on HTML and CSS with the help of Freecodecamp and Codeacademy. Over a period of time we got stuck with a project on CSS, that was when things started getting a bit tougher. And we decided that we needed a place or an institute in Nigeria or even South East where we can register, calm down and learn this stuff.

So we started doing research online and towards the end of 2018 I discovered LearnFactory in Aba, so January 2019 we moved to LearnFactory Aba and made some inquiries, but, due to some financial challenges we were not able to register by that time, so I started working towards it and by June 2019 I was able to register as an intern at LearnFactory to continue and further my journey as a professional developer.

Coming to LearnFactory has really changed me and added to my life, they have helped me improve my programming skills, as I have been able to complete so many projects on my own like building a jumia site, facebook counter app and so many more with JavaScript. Currently we are studying one of the amazing course in JavaScript which is React and I also look forward to creating some cool and amazing stuff with React.

My Dream after acquiring this skill is to become a problem-solver and to be able to find a solution to a particular problem either in my community or to the world at large.

You only have to give up when you have no vision of what you are pursing. Destiny has shown great determination in finishing his course and helping the world see tech in a different spectrum.

--

--