The Intern Files: Dennis Ukonu O.

chibueze ukaegbu
LearnFactory Nigeria
3 min readAug 16, 2019

My name is Ukonu Dennis O., a native of Mbaitoli in Imo State. Born April 11 1992, I’m a graduate of Agronomy from the Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO) and my hobbies are Gymnastics, reading, writing and travelling

My programming journey started after I completed my service year around March 2019. Before then, I was certified in Microsoft Office (Word, Excel and PowerPoint) but knew nothing about programming. My transition from Agronomy into Software development occurred when my restless self became obsessed with making a legacy in the Agricultural sector of Nigeria’s economy by utilizing software technology. But there was an issue; I had no shoulder to step on, had no boast or any precise channel to enable me define my path and induce the change I so much craved for.

After much consideration, I settled for writing due to passion. Consequently, to make my voice heard and make my mission known to many, I kicked off and stirred waters on social media but something was missing. I was not really grounded and knew little about my onions. Within me there was an urgent call for mastery. This troubled me till the day I received a heart warming message from a friend about LearnFactory’s Internship programme.

As at this time, I was not a complete novice to the computer world but a zero level novice in programming and had no background of such. This was my biggest fear. But my quest to re-mediate the Agricultural sector was powered by courage which was stronger than the weak state of my mental frame compounded with anxiety and doubt.

So, I browse to get the necessary information I needed about the institution. Then took the bold step of visiting their office in Aba, Abia State after a conversation on phone with the site administrator. On arrival, I was interviewed and enrolled as an intern. Thus, LearnFactory Nigeria unlocked the door which ushered me into the programming world.

Currently, I have a planned map on how to achieve my quest. This was necessitated by the lessons I received from adroit instructors here at LearnFactory. I have kick-off my start-up project (at its early phase) which I believe will stun the globe in time to come.

You can find me on Twitter at @ukonu_o and my GitHub repo: https://github.com/Cybacraft

“On first encounter with Dennis, you will notice his zeal and passion for tech. Having not come from a tech background, his dispositions both in words and the zealous manner in which he carries on his everyday task points to one thing; Dennis wants to make an impact in an un-tech area using technology.

His love for accepting new challenges and running with the intent of solving them is something I have personally come to love about him. His huge figure is also something he has taken advantage of as he is willing to volunteer to do some of the more physically-exhaustive works. His team play and collaborative spirit is par excellence as you can see him flowing freely with everybody.” Ugwuanyi Chidera

It’s always exciting to see people passionate to change the world; especially when we are privileged to provide them with the skills with which they are doing so. From Agronomy to Software development; passionate about changing the agricultural landscape in Nigeria.

We are yet grooming giants who are solving local and global problems using tech.

Stay tuned.

iC

Chief CodeSmith

--

--