The Intern Files: Ngozi Jacy Okosisi

chibueze ukaegbu
LearnFactory Nigeria
4 min readAug 13, 2019

My name is Jacy Ngozi Okosisi , aka NG, aka Roxilla.

I am cool, calm, collected, adventurous yet delectable. I am the last sibling in the family of 4 {2 boys and 2 girls}.

I studied Pure Arts in the tertiary college, worked in financial institution and currently paving way to become a big time software engineer, techpreneur and educationist.

Having spent most of my childhood in the eastern part Nigeria and Lagos state, I attended Federal Government Girls College Onitsha and Nnamdi Azikiwe University all in Anambra state, Nigeria.

Though being a mother of two, I am not relenting in carving a niche for myself in the tech ecosystem.

My love for technology is dates into the distant past, I can’t remember how far back it goes. I just love what you can achieve with the use of technology; the way it brings people together {social media}, the way it simplifies and makes life easy, neat, organized, less time consuming on hitherto challenging time consuming tasks, preserves energy, to mention a few.

I made up my mind to become a programmer in 2018 but didn’t know how to start. I’d almost concluded my relocation to Lagos for a programme when I learnt about LearnFactory Nigeria in Aba. I leaped with joy and almost could not believe such programme exists in Abia state but apparently, it turned out real. Though the internship for the then 2018 session was almost rounding off, I wasn’t deterred and decided to wait and proceed with 2019 Internship which I did.

The journey has been remarkable, fulfilling and challenging. Challenging mostly because of time constraints as I have to joggle all of my activities as a mother and wife and still map out time for some coding practice.

I simply can’t wait to start affecting lives with my work.

My hosted sites, in collaboration and otherwise includes
http://my-todo-app.jacy202.now.sh
https://beta-jumia-page.codecryer.now.sh

The source codes of the above sites as well as my other works are found in www.github.com/jacy202

I am yet to know what I love best about coding though I have brought my options down to 3.
1. Its artistic creativity as every work is distinct and stretches your imaginary senses.
2. The involvement of science and technology that helps bring your creativity to reality.
3. Your ability to create and impact the world remotely.

Just like every language learner, I had my fair share of struggles….with JavaScript.
I learnt HTML and CSS in less than 2 weeks but when I got to JavaScript, it became a bit bumpy with functions, loop, map and React.

When I look back now, I wonder why it took me time to understand that the complexity I was seeing then in functions is because of the ES5 & ES6 variants, the way each variant is written is different from the other; the loop, very helpful when it comes to counting down/up on specific instruction; the map helps when u need to return back your array with new results; and React simply handles each area of task in its own component. JavaScript only gets clearer with constant practice and use.

Personally, I am a good team player so I always have zero problem when it comes to collaboration. The entire team of LearnFactory Nigeria and its 2019 Cohort 1 have a place in my success story because they all contributed in one way or the other. Special thanks to Ugwuanyi Chidera for having the requisite teaching skills and patience that is needed to impact knowledge.

A big thank you to LearnFactory Nigeria for your unwavering support and opportunity thus far.

“NG as popularly called is an exceptional lady. Though with some conditions (kids) that would have made some ladies give up on coding, she still find much love in her passion for coding. Tech for her is a sure thing. Seeks for solutions to everything she find strange and willing to learn new things. She is a perfect example of “women in tech”, humble and easy going.”. Vincent Chibuike

I remember the first time I met this beautiful lady; she walked into our office and was asking some very interesting questions about programming. As one acquainted with the “almighty” Lagos and its massive tech ecosystem, I could see the doubt in her eyes as she tried to believe the words coming out of my mouth.

Fast forward a few months later, her doubt is cured and I am amazed at her dexterity and commitment. She is yet going places.

iC

Chief CodeSmith

--

--