The Intern Files: Olusegun Emmanuel

chibueze ukaegbu
LearnFactory Nigeria
3 min readAug 13, 2019

My name is Olusegun Emmanuel Musa, born and bred in Abeokuta, Ogun state. I am the last son of late Olusegun Musa Sr , the second boy of two girls two boys.

Sometimes I don’t like to talk about my story so much, but I’ll say a few words.

The first case of mention was the fact that I actually studied Management in Tai-Solarin University Of Education in Ogun state and the means at which I stumbled upon programming and LearnFactory Nigeria is amazing.

Around April I received a call from my uncle about the LearnFactory Nigeria Internship Programme taking place in Aba. I guess I saw that coming because most of the discussion I’ve had with him was about how I wanted to go into computer programming and I was not understanding a thing. so, when he heard about the LearnFactory Internship and seeing the opportunity it offered, the first person he thought to call on was myself.

For me, at first, this opportunity was too good to be true so I picked up a few stuff and my computer and decided to come check it out.

The journey of checking it out has now become a journey of my life path.

Everything I thought was impossible now look within grasp for me; all concept and code that I never thought I could understand now looks familiar after few reasoning. Thanks to my able instructors at LearnFactory Nigeria Ugwuanyi Chidera and Vincent Chibuike …they have this way of passing message to you and bringing coding to the lowest level that makes you really understand the concept and even what to do with it.

I now find myself doing a lot of things I never thought I could do: from creating a full fledged application with JavaScript and saving the authentication to local storage to creating a React app that authenticate, differentiate and route; LearnFactory Nigeria have been a very great dream come true for me.

Now I look from what I am now to what I would become and I’m not even planning to back down soon. And as a wise man once told me, “no man is expected to be the best, only to try their best”.

Thank you LearnFactory Nigeria

A word from his teachers

“Olusegun is an intern I would describe as resilient and a pusher. There are so many varieties of interns I have come to know but the doggedness of Segun in times of harsh, depressive and joy-sapping code-situations is very very outstanding.

He keeps his calm and goes about his daily activities with what I will describe as humility. Maybe because he could be described as an introvert, his flow with his fellow interns is as clear as what will be obtainable if you were sharing a class with someone who rarely talks, but as is customary with LearnFactory, we encourage collaboration and team work. This ideology is what we continue to drive into our interns and its obvious that the Segun who is an introvert is clearly opening up with others and is now collaborating efficiently and effectively. Indeed, he played a major team role in the just concluded Jumia project competition in which there is ample success on his team.” Ugwuanyi Chidera

And

“Segun typifies the humility usually associated with people of Yoruba extraction; he is truly humility personalized. Among his friends, he is the man of the people. He is a self-taught kind of person whom even if he has issues, he would like to source solution thoroughly before seeking for help. He is a tech enthusiast and is willing to learn new things at all cost.” Vincent Chibuike

I was intrigued when I had someone was coming all the way from Abeokuta to participate in the Internship. Segun’s sacrifice has not been in vain; he is steadfast, solid and in the top 3 in his cohort. He is a force to watch out for.

Keep a date for more…

iC

Chief CodeSmith

--

--