The Intern Files: Ubanna “The Organizer” Dan-Ekeh

chibueze ukaegbu
LearnFactory Nigeria
4 min readAug 10, 2019

My name is Ubanna Dan-Ekeh, I was born on the 9th of October, 1989, in Lagos, Nigeria. I am a graduate of Economics, Caleb University.

I have 6 six years of experience in the banking industry and I am currently an intern at LearnFactory Nigeria.

My experience in the banking industry was truly amazing and it shaped me and helped me to grow professionally and personally. I had the chance to work with very smart people and I also gained analytical skills, interpersonal skills, customer relationship management skills, marketing skills, leadership skills and team-work and collaboration skills.

In April 2019, after consultation with my family and mentors, I decided to take a bold step to change my career as I no longer had passion for what I was doing.

Two words can be used describe Ubanna, “curious” and “problem-solver”. Growing up, I was nick-named by my dad “the organizer” because I loved fixing things at home.

My journey to software engineering started in 2015, when I read an article about Big Data. I was so fascinated about the topic and its impact on the world. I could already see opportunities to solve problems around me.

I found out about the LearnFactory Internship through an article on https://techpoint.africa/ and I decided to give it a try. The program has exceeded my expectations and I have learnt a lot of things within a short frame of time. LearnFactory’s hands on training approach is really the best.

For programming languages, I am proficient in JavaScript and currently learning Python; For web-technologies, I am proficient in HTML, CSS, React JS and currently learning React Native, Node.js, Next.js, GraphQL, NoSQL data management with MongoDB, TensorFlow.

I currently have 5 projects under my belt:

A TODO LIST APPLICATION WITH REGISTRATION AND LOGIN FUNCTIONALITIES (JAVASCRIPT): https://snake.danekehu.now.sh/todologin.html

CHATBOT (JAVASCRIPT): https://chat.danekehu.now.sh

SOCCER TEAM WEBSITE WITH REGISTRATION AND LOGIN FUNCTIONALITIES(REACT JS): https://landingpage.danekehu.now.sh

A TODO LIST APPLICATION (REACT JS): https://my-todo-app1.danekehu.now.sh

A CLONE OF JUMIA WEBSITE (REACT JS): https://jumia.danekehu.now.sh

In my spare time, I like writing, watching movies, cooking and learning Spanish.

I am a programmer who enjoys figuring out the building blocks of the world and re-arranging them to build something even better.

Follow me on Social media via the following channels: Twitter — @danekeh; and LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/ubanna-dan-ekeh-a507212b

Best Regards

“When he stepped into LearnFactory few weeks after the internship have started and lectures almost gone far, you would think that it will be futile letting him join the current cohort. I thought the same. A little chatter, like an interview with this tall fellow revealed a unique drive. That drive that radiates of “just give me a try, I can do this thing”. He displayed a sense of passion and dedication for what he wants to achieve like someone who’s burnt the bridge. Indeed, few months after, that drive I saw didn’t disappoint, because in one of their recently concluded Jumia clone project, this same Dan, one of the last to join the cohort, lead his team to Victory. He was the team leader of “Team-Gamma”.

I look at Ekeh and I see that intern who’s best at doing research work, understanding complex paradigms, asking questions and having the ability to learn and implement on the go. For instance, a few days after he joined, with little or no knowledge of HTML, CSS and JavaScript, the cohorts were to be assessed on those aforementioned skills and Ubanna did marvelously well, presenting a finely tuned beginner UI (user interface). He would later tell me that most of the things he did there were based on Google search. If you’re looking for the modern programmer who is dynamic, able to learn under pressure and not afraid to try out new things, I present to you, Ubanna Dan-Ekeh” Ugwuanyi Chidera

Yep, you heard him right. “He resigned his banking job to become a part of the internship”. When I first heard this, it blew my mind; that was when I knew we were really changing lives.

Stay tuned for more on these awesome young people.

iC

Chief CodeSmith

--

--