WHY I GOT INTO TECH

EKE EMMANUEL IFEANYI
LearnFactory Nigeria
3 min readJun 5, 2023

Tech is not for the faint-hearted, someone once told me. That should be the discouragement I needed to to run from Tech but that’s not my person. Oh sorry, you don’t know me. Let me give you a bit about me. I am resilient and focused when it comes to things I want to achieve. I have loved computers since my childhood which led me to start operating computers even before attending the lessons. I normally find my way around computers. I did computer appreciation and all other relevant computer programs. That wasn’t enough for me, I later upscaled to Graphics design which I have been doing till now. Well, during those periods, I have had this push within me to upscale again. Some years ago, I ventured into website design thinking it will be that easy because I have always loved the idea of “coding”. I downloaded the video files and other necessary software for it but what I saw is a story for another day. It was a totally different language, It was like the case of “Mene Mene tekel” in the days of Daniel for those that read the Bible. This was a very hard nut to crack. I tried doing it again and again but it wasn’t entering anywhere, my head kept spinning each time I tried learning it and the side effect was I started having a phobia for it. It came to a point I had to quit before somebody’s son will die of headache. I remembered what that person told me which I quoted in the beginning “Tech is not for the faint-hearted”. All through those years, each time I tried learning it again, that fear arises again but that push to upscale is still there and wouldn’t let me be. I can’t tell you all that transpired within those periods but just know that it was filled with many failed trials.

Thanks be to God, luck shined on my path when a friend sent me the link to register for the learn factory free boot camp on website development, the very same thing I have been struggling with. I gladly registered but the fear was still there. I resolved in my heart that I will overcome it this time. I had to leave most of my engagements so as not to miss this golden opportunity. Coming to Learn Factory, the teaching became a lot easier to grasp. From the way our tutors teach us to the healthy competition among us the students. Can’t even say the least of how Sir Chibueze will always motivate us each morning. It’s 3 weeks now, and it has been an amazing and awesome learning experience.

If you have been following my story, you will now understand that I entered into tech because of my love and passion for it, and also, the future is tech and I don’t want to be left behind. I want to feel included.

On another note, we all know that money is a motivator. Some of the well-paying Jobs right now are tech related. The money in tech is something I want to partake of. Honestly, it is mouth-watering and it can help me build the future I see.

Finally, on a lighter note on why I entered into tech. It's funny though but I have always liked the idea of being called a “coder” It gives me a sense of superiority and something to boast around with. Coders can relate.

With all this being said, I know it is a process for me right now and I am enjoying every bit of it. I am where I am now, but I know in months and years to come, I will be far better in the tech world. My sincere appreciation to everybody in Learn Factory that is making it happen.

--

--