Change the way you think and Change the Results!

Serin Paul
SERIN PAUL
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2022
Image credit: @theawkwardyeti

Sometimes changing the way you think about a problem will give you amazing results 😍.

Below is such a story from my product journey👇.

While I was scaling up one of the products I was working on.

One challenge I faced was poor rating on the app store & play store.

This poor rating affected our growth.

While I was deep diving into the root cause of the problem.

I realized that the play store rating was driven by the 3 % unhappy customer who had a bad experience 1 time with our product.

Whereas 97 % of customers who had multiple good experiences with our product did not add any rating.

This kept me thinking & we decided to make a small tweak in our user’s journey to app rating.

Whenever our customers had a good experience with our product. Ie We identified it using different metrics/endpoints.

We showed them a dialog to rate & add comments.

This small experiment changed our rating drastically in a couple of months.

PS: This is not how I approached the problem the first time😬.

PPS: I am sure every product manager would have faced a similar problem at least one time in their career. Share this story with a PM friend who is struggling to improve their rating. This might help.

#startups #productbuilding #productmanagement #feedbacks #productexperience

--

--