Mantras for Work-Life Balance

MargaretEfron
Learning Data
3 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by Benjamin Child on Unsplash

Have you ever felt overwhelmed at work or during the job search, as though your best was not enough? Well, who hasn’t?

This can be a particular challenge for data analysts who are trying to fulfill the needs of various stakeholders, upskill and learn new tech, and manage everyone’s expectations. Even if you do not have a job yet, the job hunt itself is draining!

In honor of Stress Awareness Month this April, I will focus on reducing workplace stress. Below are mantras to help you get through challenging office situations.

Ideally, you should combine these mantras with breathing exercises or meditations to stay centered in the moment. But even if you don’t have time for breathing exercises, you can repeat these thoughts in your head.

Single-Word Mantras

To keep things simple, you can focus on a single-word mantra, like: Home, Safe, Rest, Heal, Peace, Love, Empathy.

Whatever works for you is best. The single word you focus on could be something not on this list!

You can also inhale thinking of something you hope to find (like peace) and exhale for something you can offer to others (like love.)

Mantras for Recentering Yourself

When you’re too caught up in everyday office life or job search stress, the mantras below can help you stay calm.

“I am doing the best I can and that is enough.”

“I inhale peace and exhale worry.”

“I trust myself to navigate through this.”

“This will not matter in 10 years.”

“Let it come, let it be, let it go.”

“I am not my thoughts.”

Breathe in: “Just be here now.” Breathe out: “I am present.”

“I am the one who is listening.”

Work-Life Balance Mantras

These thoughts are helpful when you have trouble disengaging from work at the end of the day.

“Now is not the time.”

“Today I will honor myself and recharge my battery.”

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Grounding Technique

If you want to recenter yourself but have trouble focusing on a mantra, you can try grounding yourself using five senses:

5. Name 5 things you can see in your immediate environment.

4. Name 4 things you can hear.

3. Name 3 things you can feel.

2. Name 2 things you can smell.

  1. Name 1 thing you can taste (even if it’s just water or your mint.)

Final Thoughts

These mantras are mindfulness exercises to help alleviate stress. You can use a mantra from this list, or create your own that is specific to you and your situation.

It’s important to build in time during the day to step away from your desk. This can involve walking around, stretching, or doing a relaxation exercise. I love to take quick walks outside and follow along with breathing exercises on my phone.

It’s also crucial that you prioritize non-work activities, including exercise, time outside, hobbies, and spending time with friends and family.

I used to think that I didn’t have time for hobbies because of my work, but then I re-framed this in my mind: “I will be more effective AT my work if I don’t define myself BY my work.” Now that I’ve set aside time for hobbies, I’m happier and more pleasant to be around. It’s a win-win for everyone!

Further Reading:

Calm: 20 affirmations for anxiety relief (and how to use them)

Calm: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 — a simple grounding exercise to calm anxiety

The contents of external submissions are not necessarily reflective of the opinions or work of Maven Analytics or any of its team members.

We believe in fostering lifelong learning and our intent is to provide a platform for the data community to share their work and seek feedback from the Maven Analytics data fam.

Submit your own writing here if you’d like to become a contributor.

Happy learning!

-Team Maven

--

--

MargaretEfron
Learning Data

I love all things data and write about Excel, Power BI, and SQL. I currently work as a Business Systems Analyst at the Darden School of Business.