Last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara…

Today I reenacted the opening sequence to the Dick Van Dyke Show in my living room (Yes, I am that old, and no, no I am not that old). It began innocently enough, removing the dog sheet from the couch…read that last sentence slowly…dog sheet…or better the dog’s sheet (the sheet that protects your couch from visiting dogs). So I was removing the dog’s sheet from the couch, when I accidentally knocked over a pillow that hit a lamp that knocked over some random african drum. I was able to grab them all before they hit the floor, only to stub my toe on a rocking chair trying to get out of the living room….Did I mention that last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara?

Last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara. I honestly think it is the most amazing place I have ever been. I didn’t really think about it until my pedicurist tried to sell me additional services, as my feet were disgusting. I wanted to tell her that it was because last week I was running through the Sahara. I was walking through the narrow alleyways of the Medinas of Fez and Marrakech. I had visited the Souks of Rissani, and walked along the beach of Essaouira. I stood in the dirt to feed a goat in a tree, walked in the desert to look at fossils…as for my feet being disgusting prior to the trip, well that was due to poor moisturizing and an unhealthy dependence on flip-flops into late October.

But last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara…

After landing in JFK after flying 11 hours from Casablanca through Madrid, sitting next an obnoxious couple who kept spiking their drinks with alcohol they smuggled on the plane, and engaging in what I believe was 7 hours of first date conversation before the guy passed out snoring when the wheels descended in JFK, getting through the “hopefully I can get this past customs” custom that is customs, and the surprise and delight of seeing my luggage on the airport carousal, I sat in a taxi heading home and thought to myself that this morning I was in Africa.

Last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara…I think god lives there. I am not a religious person, but I think if I were god, and I was going to live somewhere, why not there? It is magical. I took my first, and only selfie there…I thought later I may have to prove to myself that I actually experienced this. Is there any better proof than I wild eyed selfie taken from an unflattering angle?

When I got back from my trip I had two e-mails from two potential clients. One letting me know that my proposal was being reviewed, the other letting me know that they were going to continue to waste my time.

But last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara…I learned a little arabic, a lot about Morocco, and learned that I bargain like a Berber.

So apparently there is this epidemic in the US called Ebola that has affected halfs of half dozens of people….or if you count the number of times it was covered in the news…a million.

So did I mention that last week I was running barefoot through the Sahara…came back to states surprisingly with my head intact…Ebola free…

--

--