I’m changing.

Brooklynn copenhaver
dōjōDAILY(ish)
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2020

I’m sorry, I was wrong, I’m changing.

It’s so hard to admit it, isn’t it?

I’ve had training for every job I’ve done in my life.

But as a parent, as they say, we build the airplane while flying.

Most parents, from day one of parenthood, develop the incredible ability to learn on the go, in a hurry, and on-demand.

Life long learning, a popular term in the professional world today, actually defines the life long status of parents. Always learning, always second-guessing, always trying to catch up…

As you know, a 4-year-old is hardly alike a 6-year-old.
And how about an 11-year-old and a 13-year-old? Totally different people.

Each of their ages is a first for parents. My son Iker is just now 9 for the first time. And he is not like Alani at 9, and she is not like Amaia at 9. Each of them gave us a different version of being 9.

You might think… “Well, you know, you are great parents, you have 5 kids, lots of experience.”

I think this phrase captures it well: “It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”

We don’t need to be great parents, we need to be great learners.

It took us a long time to get to this point of clarity, and for that…

I’m sorry, I was wrong, I am changing.

What about this?

This podcast is just what you need to feel informed and educated about “the uncertain times” of COVID-19.

If you like the content of this newsletter SHARE it with other parents
If you LOVE the content, then book a session with us at
dōjō STREAM
If you want to “keep it real” then
LISTEN to our NEW Podcast: dōjō Unscripted.

--

--