LANGUAGE LEARNING | PROGRESS REPORT | EDUCATION

My Language Learning 3: How To Set Priorities

Learning Italian, Chinese, and Finnish in 2023

Jennifer Barrios Tettay
Learning Languages is FUN

--

canva

Missed any of my past language-learning stories? Find them here. ๐Ÿ‘‡

Language Learning

5 stories

Also in the third week, I devoted many hours to learning languages. Italian, Finnish, and Mandarin ๐Ÿ‘ˆ and in that order.

In fact, Italian is going very well, which is incredibly motivating.

In addition, I recently discovered LingQ. With that, Iโ€™m now reading (and listening!) excessively โ€” but more on that next week.

Finnish also gets a good chunk of my time, not least because of the leaderboards on Duolingo ๐Ÿ‘‘, which is why I work through my portion of Finnish every day, both in the mornings and evenings.

In any case, I study all 3 languages on a daily basis. Sometimes even โ€” thanks to LingQ โ€” some English and Spanish, in the (treasure) hunt for unknown words and phrases.

A Little Bit of Organization Thanks to a Simple Daily Todo List

screen capture by the author

I created this list in Obsidian. A better-known software for this purpose would be Notion. But also a simple mobile app can do the job if needed. For example ๐Ÿ‘‰ Loop Habit Tracker.

As you can see, there are various โ€œtasksโ€ under each language. Anki provides the flashcards. Working through the due cards daily is essential so the contents are reliably stored in long-term memory.

Also, I have assigned each language its own language app.

However, I only use these temporarily until I can learn primarily through immersion, thus

  • ๐Ÿ“บ videos
  • ๐Ÿ“ป podcasts
  • ๐Ÿ“š books
  • ๐Ÿ“ฐ newspaper & blog articles.

In fact, Iโ€™m already a bit inclined to take Memrise for Italian out of the list, or rather to move it to โ€œoptionalโ€. Because most of the time I deal with media in Italian anyway, even though itโ€™s still simple content.

The Duolingo course for Finnish I will probably continue until the very end.

  • First, it is relatively short with 23 units. For comparison: Spanish has a whopping 211 units!
  • Second, Duolingo teaches some grammar. Not in a direct way, but the exercises do indeed cover some basics.

Chinese is still progressing extremely slowly, but thatโ€™s okay.

While both LingoDeer and FluentU teach some basics and simple phrases, I practice characters with the app TOFU.

And with this list, I make sure to interact regularly with all 3 languages. Everything else is a bonus! In doing so, I tend to go with my mood โ€” because learning languages should also be fun! ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ•บ

For example, I like to listen to ๐Ÿ“ป Radio Rock โ€” a Finnish radio station โ€” while making breakfast in the kitchen in the mornings. Especially in the early hours, thereโ€™s still a lot of talking going on.

Or while playing video games, I often let the playlist of an Italian cover singer play. I shared a video of her at the end of todayโ€™s story. Really a very lovely voice!

My Progress in Finnish

canva

Duolingo Unit 13 (of 23)

  • ๐ŸŽ“ Experience: 15816 XP (+ 3269 XP)

Do you also learn with Duolingo? Add me: Henryetha. ๐Ÿ‘ซ

Anki โ€” Sentence Mining

  • ๐ŸŸข Young Cards: 123 (- 16)
  • โœ… Mature Cards: 24 (+ 20)

My Progress in Mandarin

canva

LingoDeer

  • ๐Ÿ“ˆ Progress: 22.5 % (+ 4.4 %)

Refold Anki Deck โ€” Mandarin 1k

  • ๐Ÿ”ต New Cards: 925 ( โ€” )
  • ๐ŸŸข Young Cards: 70 (- 5)
  • โœ… Mature Cards: 5 (+ 5)

My Progress in Italian

canva

Memrise

  • Italian 1 โœ… (202 items)
  • Italian 2 โœ… (364 items) โ†’ (+ 130)
  • Italian 3 ๐Ÿ”„ (36 / 634 items)

Anki Italian GCSE Deck

  • ๐Ÿ”ต New Cards: 3178 (- 773)
  • ๐ŸŸข Young Cards: 1291 (+ 691)
  • โœ… Mature Cards: 9 (+ 9)

๐Ÿ‘‰ 73 cards I have abandoned. They were exercises in which you learn to say the time in Italian โ€” but too much of it!

When virtually almost the same thing is asked in abundance, itโ€™s rather a waste of time. So I sorted those out to make room for โ€œrealโ€ new vocabulary.

A few days ago I discovered this channel. The woman has a beautiful voice and sings Italian covers of songs from anime and video games.

Did you like this story? Then stay tuned for next weekโ€™s article! ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’

On another matterโ€ฆ

Unfortunately, todayโ€™s story came late. I had already finished it on Friday and submitted it to the appropriate publication.

Today is Monday. Neither was it published nor did I get any notice. I had already communicated that it is important to me that my articles are published before Monday โ€” and there were no objections.

Please, if you have a publication, also think about the writers! If you need half a week to publish an article, communicate that!

As for me, I will self-publish for now and think about something for the future.

Thatโ€™s all. I hope you have a good, successful week, anyway. ๐Ÿ™Œ

--

--