Learn to be a good UX designer

lishadeng
3 min readAug 30, 2015

--

In the process of growth, parent always tell us what is the right thing and what is the wrong thing. So when I was a child I would like to observe people around. After quite a while, I found that there is no absolute right or wrong. If we need to fully understand something, we need to learn and analysis.

Ever since I was a kid I dream to become a designer. Thus, I chose Industrial Design as a undergraduate student. I want to make a good product that can solve problems in my life. Although this is just a dream, I keep this in mind all alone the way. In my first job I found out that a good product can not only satisfy my needs, but also fulfill the demand of people.

This is my favorite book(“ Designing the Moment”) when I was working in company. Every time I read it, I can get a different experience. It tells us how to make a good interface that the users most likely want to see.

When I was working, I found many contradictions in project because this is a real product that will sell to consumer. How can we work out these contradictions? In this moment,I want to find answers in the book. It looks like I can find experimental data and theoretical foundation. In the other way, I also used the method that talk with users to resolve these contradiction. In the interview, I found the different things are how to let the users talk about their intuitive feeling and how to effectively analysis your data and how to use your conclusion to help you design.

Therefor, after two years of work, I came to American to study Interactive Design. On the one hand, I want to know more things in different environment, such as different design idea, different design method and different technique.

Last semester I reread the other book that I really like. It named “Don't make me think”. Before the professor recommended us to read this book, I have read it (but it is the second edition in Chinese). When I read this in Chinese, I was so confuse because the translation. So it also looks like an user experience. How to let the uses understand you? How to don’t make users think?

According to this book , it tells us usability as a common courtesy between the website and the users. If you don’t pay attention in you usability of you website, you will lose your users. How to increase goodwill is an important thing for every designer. Try to consider problems from the user’s perspective. Think about how to make the user to find a satisfying answers when you are designing or developing your website.

This is my wordpress link that I wrote some read notes for this book: https://lishadeng900625.wordpress.com/

I like to communicate with people because I deem I can get new information from different person. I think I can find the peace in the book because I will feel nervous when I have problem. I want to be a good UX designer because I want to make the excellent product.

Therefore, these thoughts let me step by step know that I really want to learn how to be a good UX designer. I think this is a good beginning!

--

--