My struggles with design critiques…

John Paul Gallagher
2 min readMar 9, 2016

--

The trouble with most of us is that we would rather be ruined by praise than saved by criticism. -Norman Vincent Peale

Mr. Peale is right. Who likes criticism. Not me. Who likes someone undoing hours of work with, “Uh, I don’t know, it just doesn’t work for me”? No one. Although painful, criticism is important. It’s a tough lesson learned on ones path to greatness. Criticism, not unlike failure, is something we all need to learn to embrace in order to be successful and to grow as creative professionals. If we do not learn from our mistakes we are likely to repeat them. Mr. Peal so cleverly states that praise is easy, and sometimes praise is a lie, and in reality that lie can do more damage than the stating the truth we are avoiding.“I really like what you did with those yellows and purples, it almost hurts my eyes, but in a good way.” Praise and criticism are like Yin and Yang you should never have one without the other. Giving someone the hard truth about their hard work is not easy. Pointing out someones faults can be easy, but that is not the intention of criticism. If it comes from the right place, “constructive criticism” should not feel like an insult but rather like offering good advice. Receiving criticism although it can feel like an attack should be taken as advice. But, do not take criticism on its face, and do not be afraid to question a critique if you do not understand it. Maybe its invalid. Whats important is that we are creating a dialogue through which we can all learn and grow as creative professionals.There are many important lessons to take a way from receiving constructive criticism, here are a few that I am working on in my own critiques:

  1. Uncover blind spots: Sometimes its hard to see whats good and bad after pouring yourself into a project. I can’t count how many times I have said to myself after a critique “I can’t believe I missed that.”
  2. Perspective: It may be hard to admit but someone out there may have a better grasp on what you are trying to accomplish. Learn from them.
  3. Standards: We all have a standard to which we hold ourselves, but sometimes those standards become comfortable and we need to challenge ourselves to grow.
  4. Motivation: Someone doesn’t like your work. Learn something new and impress them. There is no motivation like the satisfaction of saying “in your face” (in your head of course).
  5. Be open, be grounded: No one wants to work with a close minded ego maniac. You may be good, but you are not God.

Being good at giving and receiving a critique takes work and it will evolve as you and your work evolve. I myself still struggle with it. Have an opinion and express it. You are sure to learn something.

--

--

John Paul Gallagher

Graduate student in the M.S. User Experience and Interaction design program at Philadelphia University