Karthik A S
2 min readAug 25, 2016

No such thing called as learning UX, its all about Experiencing UX

I was always intrigued by the use and impact of colours on various things in everyday life and wanted to understand if the use of technology could make any difference to this. So I chose a field of visual designing as my bachelors, once I graduated in 2013 I got a wonderful opportunity to work with Wipro Technologies and that’s where I started to hear a unfamiliar term called as “UX”.

At the beginning I was not that concerned about UX but when I started working hands on projects as a visual designer, I started to hear a lot about User Experience. So out of curiosity I started doing some research on UX and boy oh boy it got me hooked like anything. Heuristic principles, design principles, information architecture, Content Strategy, Usability and similar concepts grabbed my attention.

For me being a visual designer for couple of years all I could do was get theoretical knowledge about UX but I wanted more, I wanted to experience being UX designer. My curiosity towards UX and my appetite for learning new things rewarded me a Junior UX designer role and was placed as a shadow under senior UX designer. In this role I started getting exposed to concepts like prototyping, profiles, personas, user journey. As mentioned I wanted to experience being UX designer, I dived into couple of hands on projects, the more I worked on projects the more I realised that the knowledge that I have gained on UX was handful.

But the interest and curiosity about getting to know more about UX never decreased, so that’s when I thought/realised I need to have a proper professional degree in User Experience and someday become a professional User Experience Designer and create experiences to the end users.

Somewhere in the back of my mind. I feel that there’s a huge gap between Humans and technology. I want to bridge that gap and build more user friendly technology and make life easier for the end users. I want to create technology that understands human’s need, emotion and flexibility which is more efficient, meaningful, user friendly and effective.

I have never ever been away from my family, but here I am in the states away for my family, friends and out of my comfort zone on a mission of hoping to achieve my goal one day and become a professional User Experience Designer in the real sense by experiencing UX rather than just Learning UX