CockroachDB Overview

Diana Hsieh
Learning with Diagrams
1 min readSep 9, 2017

I’ve recently decided to embark on a journey to graphically represent the technical concepts that I learn on a daily basis. I find that simplifying complex ideas into diagrams or drawings reinforce the most important take-aways. To begin with, I’ve created a very high-level overview of CockroachDB that I plan to flesh out further in follow-up posts. Much of this information is available through the CockroachDB blog and the GitHub project. However, I hope that having everything drawn out helps you understand the concepts better. I know it sure helps me!

CockroachDB Overview

In the coming weeks / months, I’ll dive into each of the blue flags to provide more technical color on how CockroachDB implements each of those features.

In addition, I’d also like to cover some really interesting CockroachDB features, including:

  • Tracing SQL queries
  • Parallelized SQL statements
  • Interleaved tables
  • Transaction retries
  • Backup / Restore
  • And any other cool things that pop up in the interim!

Stay tuned.

--

--