Bryant Wong
LearningSelfMotivation
2 min readSep 21, 2017

--

The problem

It’s my work philosophy that I need work for a sense of accomplishment but how can I do that if I’m not even motivated to work?

I currently have a job but to actually get something done I need a couple coffees every few hours. I feel like I should have endless energy to do work. I’m 19 and my blood pressure isn’t slowing yet so why is it so hard to start and keep doing work?

I’m not the only one. I see multiple peers ready and excited to learn but many of them can’t start actually working. They physically aren’t putting actions into a computer. How can people get more motivated to actually physically move their body to get work done?

The (intended) solution

I’m not sure It’s healthy to keep pounding caffeine and I don’t think I can fix this with just a couple speeches from Gary Vee.

How am I going to fix my low self-motivation? Trial and error.

Yep. Just going to do a bunch of stuff suggested from friends and other articles and I’ll see what works.

Now, I’m only going to do suggestions that have an actual physical way to do them. I’m not going to just try to “Find a greater Purpose to my work”. I’m going to try something like meditate for x minutes a day or eat only whole grains for 3 days. It has to be something anyone can imitate.

The reason why is because I see articles like this that say some of the ways to motivation are grit, or finding ways to be passionate.

http://www.success.com/article/top-of-mind-7-ways-to-boost-self-motivation

I can’t just decide to be passionate like some points in the article but I can decide to do 15 minutes of meditation.

What I want to happen

By the end of two weeks, I want to know enough that I can at least have 1 way that will make me happy to start work at least 3 days a week or am doing more work in at least 3 days of the week.

Sound like a fair goal?

--

--