Life As A Fur Mom

Amethysts adoption story

As Told By Cam🌻
As Told By Cam
3 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

Amethyst Halloween 2K18

One year ago today I adopted my little fur child, who I came to name Amethyst, after my favorite crystal and character from Steven Universe. I had just moved out of mine and my ex’s townhouse at the time and was in a weird space. I didn’t know what my new place was missing. I had been talking to my best friend a while about adopting a kitten, but I had never actually had one before. My good friend and old roommate had one when we were in college, but I had never taken care of one on my own. Was I ready for the extra responsibility, time and money? Damn right I was!

I hit up my best friend the day of and let him know I found a lady who was fostering kittens, but it was an hour away. He pulled up to my house 20 minutes later ready for the mini road trip. She was everything I didn’t know I needed. I immediately fell in love.

She was 8-weeks old when I got her. The lady had 6 older cats, 4 kitten and 3 dogs. The place smelled like an unkept animal shelter, but who was I to judge. Am was shy when I first got her, she was meowing like crazy the entire ride home. I noticed she was not only dirty, but cover in flees. The first mission was to get her cleaned up and used to her new digs.

Baby Am

After her Dawn spa bath, she took to her new kitten food right away. She was starting to get more comfortable every minute. After only an hour or so of being in her new place, she curled up on top of me and fell asleep. That’s when it hit me, I’m officially a fur mom.

It’s crazy how fast a year goes by! Amethyst is now a rambunctious cat who get’s into literally everything. She still follows me around like a shadow and tries her best to beat up my vacuum cleaner whenever it’s out. She’s not afraid of new company, but instead forces your attention with loud meows and pouncing on you. Don’t event think about trying to cuddle without her. She’ll come in between myself and a date in a heart beat.

There’s no such thing as sleeping in anymore. Her food schedule is set in stone and she will gladly remind me each morning by either meowing non-stop or jumping on me until I get my ass up. Am is my ninja warrior who still finds solace in climbing and destroying blinds (thought she’d grow out of that phase, but clearly it’s in her blood to rebel).

Happy Adoption day to this beautiful fur child, she’s warmed my heart in more ways than one! 1 year down and so many more to go.

Enjoyed this piece? Please ❤️ and share

Trying to stay connected? Follow me on Twitter and IG at @_CurlyCam

--

--

As Told By Cam🌻
As Told By Cam

Blooming writer based in Atlanta, here to spread love, laughs and my truths.