Belonging at Leeds

Serene Esuruoso
Leeds University Union
1 min readAug 16, 2018

My arrival at uni was a typical one; my mum drove me to my accommodation, helped me get my stuff into my new room, then said a teary goodbye before setting off on the long journey back home. Although this happened 6 years ago, I clearly remember watching her drive off and feeling completely alone.

Getting involved with the wide range of Give It A Go’s is what really helped me find my fit. Not only did it mean I got more involved with the union and found people with similar interests to me, but it also gave me the opportunity to bond with my flatmates! It was a chance for us to discover Leeds together and find our common ground.

We tried societies ranging from Wine Tasting to Kick Boxing & Krav Maga. Eventually we ended up committing to different ones, but the relationships we had built lasted beyond our time at Leeds. The GIAGs were invaluable to me in first year because moving to a new city is such a daunting experience, but whenever I went back to my flat, I knew it was where I belonged.

--

--