Coping as a master’s student during COVID-19

Postgraduate Engagement Team
Leeds University Union
4 min readApr 20, 2020

Written by Imogen Stevens

For taught postgraduate students like me, university is pretty much continuing as normal, with all our assessment deadlines still in place. But instead of having a quiet library to study in, I’m now back at home. To give you a quick introduction to my new working environment, I’m on my bed with a makeshift desk, while both us and our neighbors continue to build extensions to our houses (in a socially distant way). Needless to say, like most of us right now, it’s not the most ideal.

Photo by Ali Yahya on Unsplash

But nevertheless, the deadlines are looming and I definitely still want to keep learning and graduate with relatively decent grades, so I’ve vowed to make the absolute best of this situation. At least the drilling that starts at 8 makes a great alarm clock, and the endless radio music means I don’t need to invest in Spotify. Plus my family are all still healthy, so I really can’t complain.

But considering we’ve been through a period of strikes and a global pandemic, like many master’s students over the past few weeks, I’ve had my fair share of freaking out about things. So I hope this blog post can help by providing some potentially overlooked resources, or just so you know that you’re not alone in your worries.

How do I still do research and write my dissertation?

The library is closed, home is noisy, and figuring out how to write a dissertation right now is obviously difficult. However, on a positive note, your dissertation can give you something to focus on and provide a sense of purpose during this time.

Try to remember that you can still meet your academic goals during this time, although these may need to be shifted and reworked depending on your situation. The fact that you’re going to finish your degree under these circumstances only makes it more of an achievement.

How can I stay motivated?

That being said, with everything that’s going on, finding the discipline to sit down in front of a laptop and write can be very difficult.

  • If you need some motivation, the library is hosting Shut Up and Write! sessions online. These sessions are 3 hours long and provide a supportive environment to make sure you can focus on your own work.
  • If you already have a study group system in place, you could always video call your group and work with the Pomodoro Technique, working for 25 minutes and taking a 5 minute break to catch up with your friends.
  • Take regular exercise breaks, even if its just to move away from your desk, stretch or walk around.
  • Most importantly, just do what you can.

I’m worried about my career…

You’re definitely not alone! There’s no point worrying about the future, but I know this is something that can definitely get to me. So right now I’m just trying to focus on things I can still do.

  • There are still some opportunities around, like those posted by Joblink, and volunteering at this time is especially important if you’re able to safely.
  • If you’re a postgrad staying at Leeds next year you can apply to be a Liberation Coordinator.
  • Try getting involved in citizen science projects relevant to your field, such as those on Zooniverse, which can be done in very little time and don’t require taking on any additional responsibilities.
  • The careers service is still open and you can book an appointment with them online. You can also take the time to check your CV on Vmock or access the practice aptitude tests.
  • LUU has also put together a section on the website to help you identify existing skills that you have and potentially develop new ones over this period.

Try and take a break when you can

Postgraduate life can be intense enough without being forced to be inside with nothing to do but work. Despite all the deadlines, it’s really important to still try and balance work with some days and evenings off to spend with those you’re living with, or video call others.

I hope this blog post has been of help! Remember LUU Help and Support are still here if needed, and your personal tutor can also help with any academic questions. Stay safe, and good luck postgrads!

--

--