How Millennial Burnout Affected Me

Lucy Hamilton-West
Leeds University Union
3 min readJul 3, 2019

My experience of Burnout as a student, surviving on mint imperials, tea, and two hours of sleep.

I think quite fairly, burnout has always been talked about in relation to ‘Millennials,’ which is anyone currently aged 22–38. Basically, anyone who grew up within the rise of technology and social media. For me anyway, it makes sense, as it feels as though the ease of communication has brought about a whole new load of wellbeing challenges. We’re glued to screens, easily accessible to the needs of work and other responsibilities, being fed negativity through the news, pressured by social media representations and advertisement ideals, and the list goes on. We can’t catch a break in a world that never sleeps and it is as rare to have a day without screens, unfortunately, as it is to be taught about the dangers of this and how to take care of ourselves within this technological age.

I’ve experienced these pressures first hand, throughout my second year of university especially. I would be answering emails, while mid-essay, or use my study breaks to read another piece of work, I’d constantly be switched on, available to work, or in the middle of one or more project. I’d avoid anything that wasn’t completely vital, surviving one whole day on nothing but tea and mint imperials, and without getting washed and ready for the day ahead. I’d just wake and begin my workload.

This constant productivity, and avoidance of ‘switching off’ led to me having no time to acknowledge and take notice of my health and wellbeing, or how and when I should be taking breaks and looking after myself. I eventually lost all motivation, and any care for my studies. I became exhausted yet unable to calm my mind for sleep, eventually resulting in insomnia. My entire routine became out of sync, having implications for all aspects of my life. I was working long hours, yet, not achieving much and my grades dropped, despite me working harder than ever.

Burnout can lead to eating problems, anxiety, exhaustion and chronic fatigue, fibromyalgia (pain caused by stress), all kinds of harming coping strategies, excess illness, and feelings of detachment, social withdrawal, failure, and helplessness. Burnout has finally been medically recognised, and as students it seems we are highly vulnerable to its effects, constantly in phases of high stress. We’ll be balancing the likes of exams, deadlines, jobs, volunteering, social lives, looking for the next house move, society commitments, and more.

This can make it incredibly hard to gain perspective, and give yourself permission to have an afternoon off to have some fun, or do nothing, and most importantly, forget about your responsibilities. Nobody ever teaches you how to recognise this, what to do to take care of yourself, and what might happen if you don’t. I think that’s one of the most valuable lessons you get, moving to University and taking on a whole new load of challenges, even if you’re made to learn the hard way. It certainly was the hardest and most vital for me.

My advice for all students or people experiencing these pressures, or feelings of burnout, is to allow yourself breaks. I can say with full confidence, that to work with no break, would eventually be the same as to not work at all. Once you overcome the guilt of not working when others are, or when you scheduled in your timetable to, and take notice of yourself, your actual productivity will be worthwhile and rewarding. By taking a small break, in whatever form you find helpful, you will be able to focus more, and for longer.

Take this summer break, however long or short, to truly relax and recuperate. And take this upcoming start of the new academic year to experiment with study strategies. Try different break timings and formats, timetabling or study spontaneity, company or not, library or home, an hour a day for two weeks, or all in one library day. Take the time to find whatever may work for you, and look after yourself when you’ve found it.

--

--

Lucy Hamilton-West
Leeds University Union

University of Leeds student, and Health and Wellbeing Ambassador.