Mental Health Awareness: Seeking Help and Transcending Barriers

Annie Gonyora
Leeds University Union
3 min readMay 20, 2018

Mental Health, Hate Crime Support and Reclaiming your Magic!

Artist: Vienna Rye, a 26 year old gender non-conforming artist of colour based in New York City.

Twitter has been for the past week filled with many hashtags on Mental Health Awareness week (May 14–20). While some questioned how helpful a week can really be in tackling the stigma associated with mental illnesses, many others took the time to raise awareness about the importance of speaking up and seeking help.

My own experiences with mental health illness have taught me a lot. My biggest problem was never that I was fighting depression and anxiety, but rather, I thought I was alone in this battle. We’ve all been there. In our desire to seem stronger than we actually are, we tend to take on too much and we bite off more than we can chew. I can only speak for myself, at times I refused help because I wanted to convince myself that I was as strong as I had convinced others I was. No doubt, I often ended up with too much on my plate, suffering more than I ought to.

Depression sucks. And anxiety ain’t that fun either. But one thing I always despised throughout my journey was the well-meaning advice from friends and family who’d tell me to “just go outside” or “get over it”.

In my experiences, the best advice and support I have gotten about my mental health was the best because it was honest about my struggle. I found this support as a student at Leeds University. When I finally got brave enough to admit I was struggling and ask for help, the Advice Centre assisted me in mapping out a way to deal with my struggles, engage with them and transform them into pillars of strength.

Now, as a student Ambassador for Leeds University Union’s ‘Hate Crime Support Campaign’, I have learnt to use my experiences as a guide in speaking to other students and encouraging the conversation on hate crimes and mental health. So below is a handy list of services within the Leeds University Campus and outside, written not only for those experiencing issues, but also, for friends and family who want to support their loved ones and want to know how.

  1. Leeds University Union Advice Centre (located in the foyer of the Union building)

i) Offers ongoing, confidential support to students on any issues regarding student life, from hate crimes, mental health, online harassment etc.

ii) signposts students to the relevant services both in and outside of the university.

2. StopHateUK

i) A leading organisation within the UK dealing with hate crimes and incidents. Available to report online, through post, through text, on their West Yorkshire App.

ii) Offers a 24hr helpline on 0800 138 1625

3. Draw The Line Online Reporting System:

i) A newly launched online reporting tool by Leeds University allows both students and staff members to report issues of sexual harassment, hate crimes and online harassment.

ii) Also encourages students to take part by offering the option to report an incident as a witness or bystander. You don’t have to be the victim to report or support.

4. SARSVL

i) A Leeds organisation that deals with issues of rape and sexual assault. Offers face to face support and a helpline.

5. Nightline: 01133801285

i) Offers emotional, peer support from trained fellow student volunteers. Lines open from 8pm-8am

6. The Big White Wall

i) A safe and anonymous peer support community that is now free for all Leeds University students with their University logins and passwords. Accessible anytime. Anywhere.

My email for further contact: A.gonyora@leeds.ac.uk

--

--

Annie Gonyora
Leeds University Union

20 years old, English Literature and Philosophy. LUU Hate Crime Support Ambassador.