Freshers: Navigating the Halls Experience

Moving into halls is and always will be a memorable experience. For many of us it is our first time living away from home, from the family we have lived side by side with since birth, or the friends we spent every weekend with. A complete overhauling of life as we know it, and for a lot of us, a fresh start.

I moved into halls two years ago, and I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t love to do it all again. Arriving eagerly a whole week before Freshers’ celebrations began, I had been looking forward to this moment for months and couldn’t wait for what I saw as unlimited independence.

Fortunately, I lived in an incredibly sociable halls with a mix of students from all Leeds universities, from all over the UK, Europe and beyond. A group chat had been created prior to our accommodation contracts beginning, which was arguably invaluable in forming early friendships online before meeting one another in person. The chat was active, and I even arranged to attend a gig at the Brudenell Social Club with a girl in the block next to mine once we were all moved in. From the moment I arrived we were constantly meeting up in the common room, arranging group trips to Aldi, heading up to Freshers’ events and the classic student favourite- becoming a devoted patron of the nearest Wetherspoons.

Despite looking back on my experience through rose-tinted glass, my year in halls was not as easy an experience as it may seem. I missed home far more than I anticipated, and staying in contact with home friends became difficult as we drifted apart. I was often taking coaches up to Sunderland just to spend weekends at home, which is something a lot of first year students struggle with and most weekends it was difficult to count on two hands who would actually be in Leeds. As the year went on the homesickness eased, and was certainly helped by filling my noticeboard to the brim with photographs, tickets and posters, bringing home comforts into my halls bedroom, such as a favourite cushion or stockpiling a certain snack. It was sometimes hard to assert boundaries with people, especially relating to borrowing or using things or not knowing if/how to tell someone I just wanted to be alone and go to bed. Having such a mix of students living so close-by can be the time of your life, but prepare for it to be draining too. I didn’t go on many nights out at the start of my first year, and missing a night out can feel like the end of the world, but it really isn’t! There will be a million and one opportunities to get out and have a great time in whichever way works for you.

If you are about to have your first taste of halls life, or are already moved in and waiting for the fun to begin- there are so many things you can do to try and make sure you get the most out of your experience. Most, if not all halls will hold social events to help you get out of your room and flat and into the wider halls community. If you’re free then go to them! We made pizzas, played retro games and watched movies, and it was a great feeling to know these events were happening right on my doorstep. Another way to feel like you’re at home is to get to know the variety of routes to and from university and the city centre, particularly if you are based further out in Headingley or down by the docks. For those smack bang in the middle of a busy city or industrial complex, have an explore to find your nearest green space to relax. You never know when you might need it!

I wish you the best experience possible here at Leeds, and if you are having a hard time settling or just need a little extra support, the union are always on hand to point you in the right direction. Have a wonderful year!

Catheryne Fairbairn

--

--

Catheryne Alicia Sturgess Fairbairn
Leeds University Union

BA Politics student at University of Leeds. Interests include education, social mobility and ‘The North’