Your Dissertation: Don’t Be Alarmed!

Postgraduate Engagement Team
Leeds University Union
3 min readMar 3, 2020

Written by Imogen Stevens and Sagal Arboshe

Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

As soon as I hear the word “dissertation” my heart sinks a little. I’ve always done fairly well academically, but the one thing that’s consistently let me down is the longest papers. My lowest score in my IB Diploma was my extended essay and my bachelor’s thesis grade prevented me from graduating cum laude. The prospect of a master’s dissertation is slightly terrifying. So much so that it was part of the reason I decided to study my master’s part-time so that I didn’t have to write one this year. So while I become the master of procrastination, let me hand you over to Sagal, who is facing the challenge of master’s dissertation writing this summer.

Thus far, the dissertation writing process at MA level has been pretty different to how it was at BA level. At this point, there’s only one glaring similarity — my dissertation doesn’t currently exist. Not even a little bit. Last year this was a huge source of anxiety, but having gone through the process once I know now that the words will come, they just need time. The biggest difference this time is that the ideas aren’t really coming. I did my undergraduate degree in English Literature and after filling my second and early third year with modules on Victorian literature, I had a very clear idea on which direction my dissertation would be going. I’d completed two modules with my supervisor and loved her so much that I engineered my dissertation proposal form to guarantee that I’d get her.

This time, I don’t have the luxury of having studied Global Development for two and a half years; of having learned enough that I feel empowered to be selective and make a choice. Indeed, just a few weeks ago I was feeling incredibly daunted by the prospect of dissertation thinking (let alone writing) and wishing that I’d elected to do a part-time masters so that I could learn (almost) everything first and then decide. At the moment, I’m still feeling a bit clueless but significantly less helpless. After weeks of indecision I took the choice out of my own hands by playing ip dip do down a list of research topics and vowing to seriously pursue the one I landed on. As luck would have it, I really like my topic and actually having a direction in mind has radically changed how I feel about my dissertation. I know what to read and where to find my readings; with every text and note making session I learn more and feel more confident in both my research choice, and my ability to write (at some point…).

Changing disciplines and degree levels is difficult and dissertations highlight this like nothing else, but you have experience in researching and writing and even though those things will take a different shape to how they did at undergraduate level, it’s important to recognise how skilled you are.

If, like us, you’re feeling overwhelmed by the prospect of dissertation writing, there are loads of resources out there to help. The first is the library where you can get help with any academic skills. They have a general Step Up to Master’s page that focuses on equipping postgrads with the relevant skills. You can also look through their list of dissertation examples, or sign up for workshops if you need extra support. LUU is also hosting a dissertation workshop to help postgrads meet former students and get advice on dissertation writing. There will also be a full programme of summer events running at LUU, including lunches, board game nights and a barbeque, to help make sure you have plenty of support and take a break from writing.

The PG Dissertation Workshop is being held on March 6, where current master’s students can meet graduates to get tips on dissertation writing and meet fellow students to help support each other through the writing process. Sign up here!

--

--