Todd Susman is the Man!

Timothy J. Sabo
Leftovers, Again
Published in
4 min readSep 15, 2021

--

Maybe now you will remember his name

Todd Susman

As a person in my late fifties, I’ve lived a good bit in life already, and I’ve spent plenty of time in front of the TV. I’ve even written about the effect male and female characters had on me growing up in a couple of recent articles. TV certainly has had a psychological impact on America, and has changed the way we view just about every social issue.

But most TV actors never become A-list celebrities: they are never the stars of the show, or they never become household names. They simply show up for work, do their part, and move on to the next job, not waiting around for acclaim or fame.

I spend most of my TV time watching those shows that were on when I was a kid: M*A*S*H, The Waltons, Barney Miller, and other credible TV dramedies that made me laugh, cry and think.

Like most Americans, I have probably watched more TV during the pandemic than ever before. It’s M*A*S*H in the morning, The Waltons in the afternoon, and Barney Miller at night. There are lots of other shows, but these are the ones I favor, and I watch them over and over again.

I found myself seeing the same actors on two different shows, or sometimes the same actor playing two characters on the same show. Gregory Sierra played on both Barney Miller and on The Waltons. Steve Landesburg played two…

--

--