Lajitas Golf Resort: Best Golf Resort in Texas

Andrew Wood
Legendary Golf
Published in
7 min readSep 12, 2023

--

When it comes to golf resorts in Texas, Lajitas is the best.

As a kid, I loved two things more than anything, golf and cowboy movies. I’d watch Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, The Magnificent Seven, The Spaghetti Westerns, and John Wayne. I watched the T.V. shows as well, Bonanza, Maverick, and all the rest.

So, when I had the chance to visit Lajitas and combine some authentic Western history with world-class golf, I jumped at the opportunity.

It’s a long drive to Lajitas Golf Resort, from my home in Lecanto, Florida, 1,599 miles to be exact. Located 237 miles south of Odessa, Texas, 315 miles southeast of El Paso, and 439 miles west of San Antonio Lajitas Golf Resort is well worth the drive no matter where you are coming from. I took 90 West and 386 South out of San Antonio, and it was a wonderfully scenic drive with long straightaways and gentle curves. Framed by pristine deserts and towering mesas, I put my Corvette through its paces hardly seeing another car while staying alert dodging deer, rabbits, and roadrunners. Getting there was half the fun while taking a left out of the resort heading West on Hwy 170, which provided 49 miles of the most scenic drives in America with a road perched high above the Rio Grande snaking through the mountains.

--

--

Andrew Wood
Legendary Golf

Author & Marketing Legend with over 50 books :I write on: Marketing, Travel, Sales, Success, Biz, Leadership, Golf, Autos, Books, Events www.AndrewWoodInc.com