My Dog Knows More About Marketing Than You!

Andrew Wood
Legendary Marketing
6 min readMay 19, 2021

--

Picture this ..

I’m sitting in an old-style board room at a big-polished table, at a middle of the road golf resort, somewhat past its prime, somewhere north of BFE. I’m at one end of the table my client, the owner is at the other end of the table. Post-Covid he needs more business, and he needs it now. To my left there are four people to my right there are three. His team, he wants his team to buy into my marketing campaign, get everyone on board Andrew, you know. They comprise of a hotel manager, a golf pro, chef, greenskeeper, secretary, head of housekeeping, and bar manager. Collectively they know less about marketing than my dog. None the less they are all here today to critique my new multi-media campaign, which is one of my best.

We start to my left. The golf pro does not like the image I have chosen for the lead picture in the new website although it was by far the best of the six images, they provided me.
“Couldn’t we just do a new photoshoot? he asks when I mention this fact.
“Well, I’m sure we could,” I reply “But since it’s November there are no leaves on the trees, there’s no grass on the fairways, and it’s been pissing down with rain all week. Perhaps it would be better if we waited until spring? (How it was possible that they only had six usable photographs when they’ve been in business for over 50 years was beyond my…

--

--

Andrew Wood
Legendary Marketing

Author & Marketing Legend with over 50 books :I write on: Marketing, Travel, Sales, Success, Biz, Leadership, Golf, Autos, Books, Events www.AndrewWoodInc.com