An Interview with University of Baltimore SGA President Mariame Dangnokho

Margaret Bates
Legendary Women
Published in
5 min readSep 12, 2017

--

Her Perspective on the UB-Betsy Devos Issues

Mariame Dangnokho Current University of Baltimore SGA President

1) Can you tell Legendary Women a bit about you and how you came to be the SGA president at UB?

I come from a very culturally diverse background. My mother is Trinidadian and my father is from Senegal so I grew up with a nice blend of world views in addition to my experience in the U.S. I’ve lived in Baltimore for all but three years of my life so I am very in tune with the city. I’ve always been involved in extracurricular activities since high school, from running track, a debate team, volunteering at the SPCA, feeding the hungry at churches to a nice range of internships.

My interaction with SGA began the summer before I began my freshmen year. I reached out, eager to see how I could join before I’d even began my first class at UB. I became a senator that same year, moving up to Chair of the Campus Life Committee, the Vice President and now finally President in my senior year.

2) What are some of your goals for the 2017–2018 school year for the SGA?

The SGA’s platform is one that I’m really proud of! My ultimate goal is to accomplish as much of it as possible and set a foundation for the board coming after I graduate to be able to pick up wherever we leave off. What’s special about this Platform is that it’s inclusive and puts an emphasis on collaboration, to move the university forward.

3) What do you love most about UB and why did you want to become active in its student government?

The UB community is one that has such a diverse blend of opinionated students from different backgrounds. I love that our school is small enough where everyone knows each other but I have been involved in SGA since my freshmen year. I joined SGA because I wanted to take an active role in bettering not only my own experience at UB but that of my peers as well.

4) When did the SGA find out about Betsy DeVos coming? What was the initial reaction and feelings the SGA had?

We initially found out on September 7th, a day after it was presented at a faculty senate meeting. Our initial reaction was immediate concern because of the feedback we were getting from some students, faculty and staff alike who felt blindsided by the decision.

Betsy Devos, Current Head of the U.S. Department of Education

5) What are the biggest concerns you and the SGA have about Ms. DeVos coming? What are your top complaints about this?

I worry that the political narrative that Ms. DeVos’s presence may bring will overshadow the celebratory nature of Commencement which should just be about students. I think a more appropriate time to have Ms. DeVos come speak to students would have been during a Town Hall where students could choose whether or not they want to attend. In this setting there could have been open dialogue, where students have the opportunity to question her views on policy’s that directly affect their academic careers and personal lives. The top complaint I’ve received is that some students feel that her presence is being imposed on them through graduation and that they would have liked to be provided options to choose from for Commencement.

6) What actions are you taking to counter Ms. DeVos speaking at graduation and to try and get the invitation rescinded?

The SGA is working through legislation in response to Ms. DeVos’s Fall 2017 Commencement invitation.

7) What steps are you taking to ensure there is more SGA input on speakers in the future?

SGA is a governance body who works through passing legislation. We are writing legislation to address this and make sure more student input is included in matters that directly affect them.

8) What can students do to help protest Ms. Devos coming and make their voices heard?

I encourage students to passionately and peacefully make sure their voices are heard as many of them have been doing. The SGA is having a senate meeting on Wednesday September 13th where we’ve invited President Schmoke to join us in discussing the University’s declining enrollment and budget. Through this meeting we are providing students a platform to pose their questions, voice their opinions and get answers regarding enrollment, budget, and other University affairs including Commencement, from President Schmoke directly.

Kurt Schmoke, Current University of Baltimore President

9) What can the greater Baltimore/MD community do to offer support? What about people across the country?

I think that the best thing anyone can do to offer support to the UB community is to remember what the focal point of this is. The overarching problem we are facing is a disregard and a lack of student inclusion in affairs that directly impact them. Regardless of personal opinion regarding the matter I ask that everyone stand with the students in asking that they have a more prominent role in making collective decisions about things like Commencement that should be about them.

Legendary Women, Inc. does not own the images used in this article and does not profit from them. They are protected under Fair Use.

Love what you read? Want to follow us closer to get all the latest Legendary Women news? Then sign up for our monthly newsletter and also our Medium collection. And don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

--

--

Margaret Bates
Legendary Women

Co-Founder and Treasurer for http://t.co/CyVXbYapsT . Also a developmental editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach.