#WeNeedDiverseBooks — An Interview with Michel Prince of Sigils and Spells

Margaret Bates
Legendary Women
Published in
3 min readDec 23, 2017
  1. Tell us a bit about yourself and who or which book inspired you to get into writing.

I’m a wife and mom who grew up getting lost in books. The book that inspired me to write I’d rather not call out because it was one that left me wanting more, but not from the author. Unlike fan fiction I wanted characters with a different level to them, especially when it came to characters of color.

**

2. What do you generally write about?

I have quite a few contemporary romances out with athletes. Whether I write contemporary, paranormal or Sci-Fi I have strong women that want their men, but don’t need them. Although they balance their partners, I have women that can survive on their own.

**

3. What motivates you to write diverse characters?

When I started writing I wanted to see a reflection of my own relationship in a book. Being part of an interracial relationship it can be hard to find books that aren’t fetish motivated so I wrote my own. As I continued writing I mixed my characters up even more. You never know the racial make up to my books until you pick them up.

4. What are you writing about (without spoilers of course) for Sigils and Spells?

In Sigils and Spells I have my first published book. It had been out for a few years, but I took it down for this series. Chrysalis, winner of 2014 IRAE Sweetest book award, is the first in a New Adult series that follows a teen, Ellie, who not only discovered her true love, but that demons are hunting her. Now she has to find her inner strength to destroy them or lose her one chance at happiness. The theme of the series is “The hardest part of growing up is learning you are worth more.”

**

5. What interested you in joining this collection?

The interracial nature with paranormal. Too often in paranormal books the people of color are sub characters.

**

6. What do you wish more readers and people in the publishing industry knew about #WeNeedDiverseBooks?

Not all readers are white. Not all white readers want to read about white characters. People of different races can fall in love and not because of the taboo of the relationship. Black men can be heroes.

**

7. What will you be working on next?

My next release will be Feb 6th, 2018 and it’s book 5 in my football series, Encroachment. Catch up on the Love by the Yard series to meet all the guys. So editing that is my main focus.

I’m currently working on book two in my motorcycle club series and book one of my tattoo artist series. Usually I’m working on a 3–4 books at a time. I even have a sci-fi and paranormal that I’m working on too.

**

8. Where can our readers find you on social media and where can they buy Sigils and Spells?

You can find Sigils and Spells at Amazon, iTunes, Barnes and Noble Nook, and Kobo as well as at our site where we have some good giveaways too.

Here are my social media links:

www.facebook.com/michelprincebooks

https://twitter.com/MichelPrince1

https://www.instagram.com/michelprincebooks/

Legendary Women, Inc. does not own any of the images used in this article and we do not profit from them.

Love what you read? Want to follow us closer to get all the latest Legendary Women news? Then sign up for our monthly newsletter and also our Medium collection. And don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

--

--

Margaret Bates
Legendary Women

Co-Founder and Treasurer for http://t.co/CyVXbYapsT . Also a developmental editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach.