Why Jameis Winston is out of bounds

Megan Hussey
Legendary Women
Published in
5 min readFeb 27, 2017

Jameis Winston, this here town might not be big enough for the both of us.

As a journalist who covers the education beat in sunny Tampa Bay, Florida, last week I profiled an amazing teacher who has started a leadership program for young people. After the interview, she and I entered into an in-depth discussion about the vital importance of giving girls their voices.

If a girl does not feel empowered to get up and speak her mind, we reasoned, she may be unable to excel academically, or to successfully participate in sports or extracurricular activities. Even worse, in the tragic event that she is molested or abused, she may find herself unable to speak up, come forward and demand justice.

Then today, I read that one of our local athletes spoke to an elementary school class to impart a similar message of empowerment — but to boys only.

Jameis Winston, quarterback for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, recently addressed a group of St. Petersburg students with these supposedly inspiring words:

“All my young boys, stand up. The ladies, sit down. But all my boys, stand up. We strong, right? We strong! We strong, right? All my boys, tell me one time: I can do anything I put my mind to. Now a lot of boys aren’t supposed to be soft-spoken. You know what I’m saying? One day y’all are going to have a very deep voice like this. One day, you’ll have a very, very deep voice.

“But the ladies, they’re supposed to be silent, polite, gentle. My men, my men (are) supposed to be strong. I want y’all to tell me what the third rule of life is: I can do anything I put my mind to. Scream it!”

Today, Jameis Winston, I’m screaming at you.

How in the hell are today’s girls supposed to grow up with an inch of backbone or an ounce of self-confidence? A brilliant woman runs for president, and she is labelled a bitch and a nasty woman. A prominent woman senator is told to sit down and shut up, just for trying to impart the message of a legendary female civil rights leader.

Sen. Elizabeth Warren

And now this, coming from Jameis Winston. Recognize the name?

Even if you’re not a football fan, you just might know this name. In 2012, as a student at Florida State University, he was accused of sexual assault. His accuser came forward in the renowned anti-rape documentary The Hunting Ground to share her accounting of events.

Winston denied the charges and never was charged with a crime. It has been asserted, however, that the matter never was sufficiently investigated by the police at the time of the initial accusation, and that important information may have been withheld from the public. I am not making an assumption of guilt here, but just encourage everyone to read up on the matter.

Also while at Florida State, Winston was suspended for half a game after saying — well, how do I put this?

If you’re wondering how my day is going so far, Jameis Winston just jumped on a table in the union and yelled “fuck her right in the pussy”

— Katelyn Boyd (@katelyngail) September 16, 2014

Real role model material, huh?

If I had it my way, this individual would be ridden out of town on a rail. Yet since it appears he is here to stay, I have some advice for female fans of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Yes, I know the stadium is beautiful, the team as a whole is awesome, and that pirate ship thingy in the end-zone is so cool. Even so, I’d advise you to return your season tickets and stay home from any future games that feature Jameis Winston. After all, he probably wouldn’t want to hear all of those loud women up in the stands, cheering and making a ruckus as opposed to being quiet and polite.

To the talented and lovely Buccaneers cheerleaders: When this man comes on the field, I suggest that you sit right square down and abstain from cheering. Being soft spoken, after all, is the way to go!

Only it’s not. Silence is not golden when it restrains and confines us, preventing we as women and girls from reaching our full and incredible potential. So with that in mind, I also suggest that schools here and everywhere encourage girls to stand up this International Women’s Day — literally encourage them to stand at their desks and proudly speak their minds.

WNBA legend Chamique Holdsclaw has delivered her own verbal smackdown to Winston, saying in part, “We have to teach these men and boys not to tear us down…When I’m out there ministering to young girls, I’m telling them that you got to be your authentic self. You can’t be stuck in a box. You can’t heed to traditional stereotypes of what a woman should be.”

By US Department of Labor (https://www.flickr.com/photos/usdol/28898757485) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

Jameis Winston has told several news outlets that he made a poor word choice during his address that may have been misinterpreted by some…Oh, I should relate his full statement on the matter, but I frankly don’t care.

Jameis Winston, sit down and be silent.

Love what you read? Want to follow us closer to get all the latest Legendary Women news? Then sign up for our monthly newsletter and also our Medium collection. And don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

--

--

Megan Hussey
Legendary Women

Megan Hussey is an author, journalist and feminist activist.