Become a Pro Photographer with Your iPhone, Some Cardboard and Tinfoil

Natalie Morgan
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJun 2, 2020

I love my Canon EOS 6D.

It has tons of features and lenses that can transform my pictures in any way I want. Truth is, though, it can get heavy, and I am not always carrying it with me when inspiration strikes. While a digital camera is great, I have learned that it is not always the best option for those of us who are always on the move.

I use an iPhone 7 Plus, but more recent models have even better specs with more cameras. The iPhone 7 Plus and newer iPhone models can shoot great photos at 12 megapixels, which is perfect for any shot.

Some pictures of the #hamsa and #heart necklace I always wear. It was fun using DIY reflectors made from cardboard and aluminum foil to enhance the lighting.
✨Is there an accessory that you always wear? Let me know in the comments!✨
Extra selfie at the end!😊 #shotoniphone #photobyiphone #accessoriesoftheday #diy #necklace #shotoniphone7plus #stilllifephotography #stilllife #shineyourlight #selfie

The photos above, which appear on my design Instagram account, were all taken with my iPhone using natural lighting and DIY reflectors.

DIY reflectors are a perfect way to create your own inexpensive pro studio. All you need is some cardboard (or other sturdy board of choice) and some tinfoil. I learned how to make my reflectors and set them up through a tutorial by photographer Laya Gerlock. Click here for the detailed DIY instructions.

Courtesy of flickr.com

The main takeaway is that expensive heavy equipment is not necessary to create eye-catching photos. I was able to get great shots with spectacular focus and lighting by simply using my iPhone and some typical household items.

--

--

Natalie Morgan
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

Lehigh ’21 | Graphic Design Major — Mass Communication Minor|