Coffee. Coffee. Coffee.

Olivia LiPuma
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

--

Coffee is one thing I cannot live without. It’s what puts me in a good mood.

Coffee is a versatile subject matter. Before completing our still-life photoshoot assignment, my initial thought was, “How do people like their coffee?”

I thought about a strong shot of espresso, a milky latte, even a cinnamon cappuccino.

But I am no barista.

So I thought about the basic components that most coffee drinkers use. With my series of close ups, there wasn’t much room for an elaborate narrative. I worked to capture the beauty of the basic coffee components.

I used the natural morning light to illuminate the subject. Coffee is not a colorful subject matter so I choose to use the rainbow cups from my kitchen to add some pop. When composing my Instagram post, I chose to start with a shoot of the environment (coffee, sugar, milk and mugs).

For the next photo, I wanted to have a decisive moment to capture the audience attention. I ultimately decided it would be best to take a series of photographs where the coffee was spilling out.

What I like most about the photo is how it points reference to the texture of the coffee itself.

For the last picture, I actually ended up using my reflector as a background. I felt the aluminum juxtaposing against the red mug provided a clean and simple look.

Good morning world. Today’s good mood is sponsored by coffee. I love waking up to the smell the coffee. I can’t start my day without a cup. How many ☕️ a day? The answer is too many.
Sick of waiting on the Starbucks line? Me too. Any one else feel like a barista? And making coffee has become part of their routine? Break open your coffee press (or keurig) and enjoy the warmth in your hands of homemade freshly brewed cup of coffee.

Doing this product shoot opened my eyes to how all the different perspective enable the same object to look completely different. I also learned the importance of natural light and how the angle it hits your subject affects the photograph.

--

--