Destin Sparks: The Landscape Legend

Peter Burpee
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readMay 31, 2020

Based in Queensland, Australia, Destin Sparks is a self-taught accomplished landscape photographer that focuses on the natural scenes of tremendous mountains, cascading waterfalls and environments alike.

Some of his favorites include Yosemite Valley, Moraine Lake and various locations across New Zealand. I find myself also enjoying taking pictures of nature’s beauty because it always seems to amaze me. Whether it is a vibrant sunset over the clear-blue ocean or large redwoods poking through the mist, I always feel mesmerized with each new scene. I think part of this comes from my childhood growing up in the North West always seeking adventure and spending lots of time outside.

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

One of my favorite things about Sparks’ style is his decision not to edit his photos or use Photoshop. While an important part of shooting nature and landscapes is the lighting, I would rather wait out the photo or have patience to go back until the conditions are right than try to forcefully edit the photo. I don’t think this would do justice to the legit scene.

With my upcoming projects and stories I will tell through photography, I will try to emulate Destin through a similar use of patience and dedication to capture “the perfect shot.” A

After reading an interview with Destin, I really enjoyed his advice for people just getting into photography: “Stay true to yourself and don’t let the internet negatively influence your direction. It’s easy to get caught up following what other people are doing, especially on social media. If you enjoy photography, do it for yourself and yourself only.”

Photo by Hunter Moranville on Unsplash

After taking a look at a few of Destin’s popular works, I strive to use some of the photo composition skills we have learned in class in hopes to capture moments like his.

For example, in “Enchanted,” Destin uses the rule of thirds to carefully place points of interest in the intersections along the lines. While this can change the symmetry of a photo, it also adds a simple flare of balance.

Another basic skill that I can emulate through my work is through the use of framing. In “Transcendence,” Sparks captures the waterfall and even the person with the trees and foliage along the outskirts to further stress the center of attention. Similarly, by shooting through the splashing of the ocean and practicing framing, I can capture the sunsets and the surfers at the center of the ocean in my photos.

--

--