Experimenting with flowers in still life photographs

Julia DiRubbo
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
1 min readJun 2, 2020

This week was very exciting, as I got to explore the world of still life photography on Instagram.

As I prepared to make my own still life photos, I found it helpful to draw inspiration from professionals in the industry.

As I discussed in my previous blog post, I wanted to emulate the work of Tiff Seidel, who creates photos of flowers with minimalist backgrounds. While I initially wanted to mimic her style without copying her brand entirely, I became entranced by the flowers on my own porch. I knew I had to photograph them because the scenery and focal object were too beautiful to pass for this assignment.

I’m so glad I chose to do this because I had a fun and exciting afternoon experimenting with the lighting around my flowers and practicing using the reflectors.

There’s nothing more more serene than sitting on my porch with nature.☀️🌹 I couldn’t think of a better subject for my first attempt at still-life photography! #frommygarden #flowersofinstagram# backyardgarden #backyardview #stilllifeflowers

While I am extremely happy with my photos, one takeaway I would like to share is that it was difficult to work with the lighting outdoors. Because the sun moves so often behind the clouds, I was frustrated at points going in and out of the house waiting for the sun to come back out. When I practiced still life photos inside the house using natural light from the window, I found fewer issues with the lighting even when the sun moved.

I am optimistic about the skills I could develop with just a little bit of practice, and I plan to continue shooting photos to learn more about who I am as an artist.

--

--