Student entrepreneur “grinds” during the coronavirus

You don’t have to skip working out just because the gyms are closed

Caroline Coffey
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Meet Rachel Greenberg — my lifelong friend turned and now my personal trainer.

Rachel Greenberg, Student/Personal Trainer

Since the coronavirus shut down our hometown, including gyms, Greenberg wanted to start showing people how to eat healthy and stay fit. Since lockdowns have been lifted in Pennsylvania, Greenberg has been seeing clients outside her home for personal training lessons.

I thought Greenberg was the perfect subject for my social documentary because she is very passionate about what she does. I’ve always admired her drive and willingness to fight for what she wants. We’re very close friends, so asking to film wasn’t hard.

We set up an interview space in her driveway by positioning her near the bushes in the right view of the camera. I used an external microphone to make sure viewers could clearly hear Greenberg speak.

I added a screen recording of Greenberg’s Instagram to give an idea of what she’s all about. She has been working especially hard on her social media presence to gain more of a following and find potential clients.

To get B-roll, I filmed Rachel boxing and my friend doing the agility ladder. Rachel kindly sent some videos of other friends who are also her clients. I wanted to show these workouts because I was familiar with them from our sessions, and they filled the frame nicely.

I noticed that Greenberg’s audio was very loud, so I made sure to turn that down. I faded sections in and out and made sure to leave pauses in logical places.

Lifelong friend turned to personal trainer! Thank you @greenberggrind_ for sharing your story. Check out her account for awesome health tips and fitness tricks!

Working with Davinci Resolve this week was new and exciting. Like I said on Twitter, I’ve only had experience with iMovie until now. I appreciated how zoomed in I could get to my video and audio clips to edit them with precision.

Overall, I’m proud of how my first social video documentary came out. I’ve always had a passion for multimedia editing, and to bring my vision to life with a new toolbox is exciting.

I was also happy to work with a friend in doing this project, which is exciting during times like these.

--

--

Caroline Coffey
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

call me cici @lehighu | journalism & graphic design | i love creating content!