How To Dress Like A Sneakerhead

In this video, the Founder & CEO of A Sneakerhead’s Paradise takes us through pairing street wear clothing with the “Sesame” Sacai Nike Vaporwaffle.

Nazr El-Scari
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJul 3, 2021

--

This week, we were challenged to create a social media video, and I chose to focus on my business.

This was my first time really putting myself out there to do a TikTok style video showing how I put together outfits with my sneakers — and I had a lot of fun.

I think what made me super excited about the final product was that with more thought and better production, I could really see this as part of my business’ marketing mix.

With this video, I took the voiceover approach. Though I tried to do the script on video at first, I feel like the voiceover made it easier to nail it in my first few attempts, and it help me to keep a similar tone and volume across the whole video.

The reason I chose the outfit I did is because I recently did a photo shoot with my friends in the same outfit, and I thought it was a great basis of introducing the “How To Dress Like A Sneakerhead” concept.

The outfit also combines all of the traditional aspects of a typical Sneakerhead, which includes hype beast street wear clothing like Supreme and sneakers that cost double what they originally did when they released.

Photo by Matthew Kwong on Unsplash

With my editing, I tried to make very strict cuts between the different scenes, which models a lot of the things I see on TikTok. I think these cuts allow for it to flow quickly but also naturally between each part. I did consider playing with the transitions some, but when I added a few in, I realized it took away from the core content, so I figured it was best to keep the transitions simple.

Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

In all, I think the biggest thing I learned here is that simple is actually quite effective, especially with 30- to 60-second social videos. While that isn’t long, it’s still plenty of time to engage the audience with fun informational pieces that add value.

I’m extremely excited to keep playing with videos like this and may even consider signing up for TikTok to utilize their effects and transitions.

--

--