InstaArt

Eve Dillingham
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJun 15, 2020

This week, I have decided to make a video about my friend in town who makes, designs and sells stickers. I have always been so interested in my friends’ many talents, and seeing them curate designs for profit all by themselves is super cool to me.

As I browsed Instagram, I noticed that when talking to or interviewing someone, it is more interesting to have good b-roll video of their work as you hear what they do.

Photo by Anna Kolosyuk on Unsplash

The visual aspect of telling a person’s story is just as important as hearing it. I have always been more prone to buying something or wanting more information about a product when I can actually see it in the making. On Instagram, I found an artist named Justine Mahoney who was interviewed by Southern Guild Gallery, and it caught my eye.

I like the way that the camera person took videos of Justine, the artist, as she talked about her pieces of art, how she got started, what kind of tools she uses, and the like.

Then, the video would cut to the different art pieces she was referencing, or pan around her art gallery. This would be done with her voice over the clip, so the audience could still hear her as they were given the visual example.

This particular Instagram video was about a certain genre of projects Justine worked on. As for my video, I want to focus on how my friend started and present a timeline of her work and her future goals.

There would be some instances in the Instagram video of Justine where the camera would cut to her work that was not in the art gallery. This was separate and edited in, so you could see that the editing on this video was more professional and definitely was not a one-take kind of video.

There were different angles on the art pieces, some zoomed in with tight shots to show texture and detail, some far, medium shots away to show size, and some with Justine actually next to the pieces herself.

I appreciated this video because it was more of a story than a video blog or basic Instagram video. The editing, angles and voiceover made it much more than a normal Instagram video.

--

--

Eve Dillingham
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

Syracuse University ’23 | SU Drama student | Montclair, NJ