Let’s get ready to RUMBLE

How Rumble took Instagram’s Fitness Insider account by storm.

Caroline Coffey
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
3 min readJun 12, 2020

--

Photo by Chris Kendall on Unsplash

I explored Fitness Insider’s Instagram to get inspired for a social documentary in my Lehigh Social Media Storytelling course.

The four-minute documentary starts off by explaining what Rumble is, who goes to Rumble’s private lessons/group sessions and where Rumble classes are located.

Next, we are hit with an interview. This is what got my gears running for my social documentary.

Rumble’s Cofounder, Noah Neiman, explains that during Rumble classes, you get two types of workouts — conditioning from boxing and strength-training from weights.

Neiman sat in the right third of the camera and the studio was in the background. When setting up my interview, I knew things were going to be different.

Toward the end of the coronavirus lockdown, I’ve been going to my friend Rachel’s house for personal-training lessons. Rachel started her own business, Greenberg Grind, training our friends and sharing her fitness journey on social media. She has won me over with lessons twice a week.

I wanted to focus on Rachel for my social documentary this week because I am proud of what she’s been doing. Growing up, she has always been eager to challenge herself and motivate others.

In our interview, I knew Rachel wouldn’t have a studio to sit in. We do workouts in her driveway usually with weights, an agility ladder and a bosu ball. The best option for our interview was to be outside. I decided to put Rachel in the right-hand view of the camera similarly to how Fitness Insider put Neiman in his place. It was a good choice for framing, and the background was nice.

Fitness Insider also incorporated B-roll into their interview similarly to how we learned in class. The B-roll that I include will show Rachel’s Instagram, workouts and client workouts.

The best thing to note about the Rumble documentary is that it followed a clear story. Like I stated earlier, we were hit with some context, then an interview. After this, we saw the Fitness Insider staff try out personal lessons then a class. Finally, they reviewed their experiences. This made it worthwhile to watch. Throughout the whole thing, its purpose was to inform, keeping viewers engaged with cool shots of the Rumble classes and upbeat audio.

I wanted to touch on the subtitles and graphics in this documentary. They were pleasing to the eye and made it much easier to understand who people were and provided other information and visuals to engage the viewer.

Though it can only be 30–60 seconds, I want my social documentary to follow a clear story. I plan to recreate something similar to Rumble’s documentary in the sense that Rachel also boxes and does weight training. The interview will be similar to the short interview within the documentary.

--

--

Caroline Coffey
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

call me cici @lehighu | journalism & graphic design | i love creating content!