My First Shot at Product Photography

Will Siddons
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
1 min readJun 2, 2020

Overall I had a great time with this assignment.

I spent about half my time at home with my makeshift photo studio and the other half skateboarding around trying to find spots with good lighting/background. Most of my experimentation came from figuring out how I wanted to arrange the product I was shooting. I knew I wanted a simple color palette of some reds, blacks and grays in order to match the colors of the box and actual bearings. I also wanted to make sure I used skateboarding elements too such as grip tape and my actual skateboard as background elements.

I would say the hardest part of this project was combing through all of the photos I took, not only to select the best images, but to select three images that were created a cohesive Instagram post.

I swear you ride your board through one puddle and you have to spend $18 on new bearings, spend 20 mins changing them out, and get a great idea for some still-life product photography.
#skateboarding
#skatecrunch #skategram #slateboardmag #skateboardinglife #skatephotography #boneswheels #skatephoto #productphotographer #productstyling #productshoot #productphoto #skateboarddesign #skateboardingphotography #skateboardwheels #skateboardingart #skatephoto #bonesbearings #skateboardphotography #skatedaily #productphotographystudio #productphotoshoot #instaphotigy

--

--