My shot at mobile photography

Caroline Coffey
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
1 min readJun 2, 2020

This week, I was tasked to try out mobile photography for #LUComm197. I’ve worked with my phone to take pictures in a visual communication class, but this time I had to make still-life photographs.

I’ve been loving fresh fruit since it’s been getting warmer. Diced mango and blueberries are eye-catching and delicious! They’re also good for your heart and fighting cancers.
What are your favorite summer fruits? 🌞🥭🦋

Mangos and blueberries look beautiful together. The contrast of deep blue and yellow-orange along with bright natural light made for some awesome pictures.

I enjoyed setting up the fruit to being eye-pleasing, but the truth is, it did the work itself. With a bowl, some fruit and fresh-cut grass (thanks, Dad!), I was ready to begin.

From this assignment, I learned that working with the reflector is challenging when it is cloudy. If I had more sunlight, I think the white bowl would shine even brighter and contrast the fruit even more.

I also learned a lot about Instagram optimization. As I continue to grow my social profiles, I will be thinking about engagement and what it takes for a post to succeed.

--

--

Caroline Coffey
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

call me cici @lehighu | journalism & graphic design | i love creating content!