My Social Video Inspiration

Nazr El-Scari
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
3 min readJun 26, 2021

Like most of my of inspiration for this course, I am immediately drawn to sneakers regardless of brand.

Yet, for this post, I knew exactly the company to go with. In terms of sneakers, Nike is almost synonymous with the word. Even if people don’t know sneakers at all, they know Nike.

It’s hard place to get your brand to in the every changing world of fashion. Yet, they hold a key ability that many companies do not.

Photo by SoleSavy on Unsplash

The brilliance of Nike is not just their unparalleled competitive advantage of having many of the top athletes from all types of sports signed under their brand, but also their ability to tell stories.

I can point to countless advertising campaigns by Nike that evoke tremendous emotion and nostalgia, which I believe strengthens its consumer ties to their products.

The reality is that most of us won’t be professional athletes, but there’s just something about Nike advertisements that make you feel like your career as an athlete was professional regardless of how far you made it. They tap into that inner kid who once dreamed of being the greatest and it just never fails.

On Instagram, Nike recently posted a video featuring Marcus Rashford, who spoke on the opportunity soccer gave him to express himself.

He also touched on what he’s doing currently to create the same types of opportunities he received for others in his community.

How could you not love this? The moment he talked about being a shy and quite kid and how he uses the sport to express himself, I immediately thought of the one kid on my basketball team from middle school who didn’t say much off the court but played with passion and intensity every time he stepped on the floor.

Photo by Ben Hershey on Unsplash

In addition to the story, I really enjoyed the production value, including the overlay of bold font that has become a staple of Nike advertising. I also loved the unique effects that make the video more fast-paced and action-packed, much like the game of soccer itself. I also love how they used static photos and animations to create movement that flowed with the video but also focused specifically on Rashford.

Overall, I think one of the biggest things I learned was that the focus of the video does not always have to be visually present. They do a great job of mixing in Rashford’s voice and supporting images to the point that it never feels like he’s gone from the video.

That is something I really want to try to nail in my video. I am excited to see how it turns out.

--

--