Olivia’s Stickers!

Eve Dillingham
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling
2 min readJun 16, 2020
Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

This week I had an amazing time filming my friend Olivia talking about her sticker company.

I have always been interested in the way she created a brand for herself along, including on Instagram that gathered a following with no help at all.

I thought I would document her experience starting with her stickers.

Because of coronavirus conditions, I had to sit outside with Olivia, which took away the more intimate feeling we would have inside, near her sticker machine, showing exactly where she works.

The first part of my conversation with her was asking about how she got started. I decided to start off with an interview style, sit down-talk.

I thought that when talking about something she was passionate about, it would be more effective to have a close up shot making it more conversational. As I learned from my blog post assignment, incorporating visuals into an interview is much more entertaining and will most likely keep the audience engaged than a full video of talking to the camera.

Olivia has an app where she takes videos of the design process of her stickers, so I was able to incorporate that in my interview and kept the audio of Olivia talking while the visual overlapped.

I tried to ask Olivia questions that would summarize the reason she went into sticker making and what made it special to her. She is big on college stickers, so I decided to show the visual of her making stickers that I purchased for my sorority and Syracuse.

Even though this documentary style video was short, I feel like I actually learned a lot with the new editing software, like how to cut out unnecessary audio such as “um” and “like,” overlap visuals over sound and trim the video to make it within the time limit.

Got to interview my sticker loving friend as she guided me through her creative process while making #stickers! 🥰🎨🔆 #sticker #artist #interview #creative #quarantinecrafts #corona #crafty #crafts #decorate #college #decision

--

--

Eve Dillingham
Lehigh Mobile Storytelling

Syracuse University ’23 | SU Drama student | Montclair, NJ